James Runcie (Photo Credit: Neil Hanna)
James Runcie is an English author of mystery and historical fiction novels. He writes the Grantchester Mysteries series. James is also a documentary filmmaker, TV producer and playwright. He is the son of the former Archbishop of Canterbury, Robert Runcie. James attended Dragon School in Oxford, Marlborough College, and Trinity Hall, Cambridge. He earned a first-class degree in English from Cambridge University in 1981, and trained at Bristol Old Vic Theatre School. James has worked in radio drama for BBC Scotland, and produced Arts, Music and History TV shows for the BBC. He is married to theatre director/radio drama producer Marilyn Imrie.

James Runcie made his debut as a published author in 2001 with the novel The Discovery of Chocolate. Below is a list of James Runcie’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when James Runcie releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of The Grantchester Mysteries Books

Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sidney Chambers and the Perils of the Night (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sidney Chambers and the Problem of Evil (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sidney Chambers and The Forgiveness of Sins (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sidney Chambers and The Dangers of Temptation (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sidney Chambers and the Persistence of Love (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Road to Grantchester (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Colour of Heaven (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Discovery of Chocolate (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Canvey Island (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
East Fortune (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Great Passion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Tell Me Good Things: On Love, Death and Marriage (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Short Sentence(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The BBC National Short Story Award 2021(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The collection Short Sentence also includes stories by Parker Bilal, Conor Fitzgerald, Thomas Mogford and Anne Zouroudi.

If You Like James Runcie Books, You’ll Love…

James Runcie Synopsis: In The Discovery of Chocolate by James Runcie, Diego de Godoy sets off for South America in 1518 with Cortes and the Conquistadors. During his travels he falls in love with Ignacia, a native woman who introduces him to the secrets of the most delicious drink he has ever tasted: chocolate. Tragically, their passionate affair is cut short by the chaotic conquest of Mexico. Diego later discovers that his lover had secretly added the elixir of life to his chocolate. Unable to die, he lives on through history — Paris during the time of the Revolution, Vienna in the 19th century, late Victorian England, and Hershey, Pennsylvania — accompanied by his trusty greyhound, Pedro. All the while, he searches to recapture the magic of Ignacia’s chocolate — and to learn to love life just as fully.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James Runcie Books

Leave a Reply