Lindsey Davis
Lindsey Davis is an English author of historical mystery novels. She is best known for writing her Marcus Didius Falco series and its spin-offs. Lindsey got her degree in English literature from Oxford University. She proceeded to work in civil service for 13 years before her romance novel was runner-up for the 1985 Georgette Heyer Historical Novel Prize, at which point she decided to pursue her dream writing.

Lindsey Davis’ first novel was published in 1989, which was entitled The Silver Pigs. It not only would start her career, but also her Marcus Didius Falco series, which she wrote a new novel almost every year for until 2010. Below is a list of Lindsey Davis’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Lindsey Davis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Marcus Didius Falco Books

The Silver Pigs (1989)Description / Buy at
Shadows in Bronze (1990)Description / Buy at
Venus in Copper (1991)Description / Buy at
The Iron Hand of Mars (1992)Description / Buy at
Poseidon's Gold (1993)Description / Buy at
Last Act in Palmyra (1994)Description / Buy at
Time to Depart (1995)Description / Buy at
A Dying Light in Corduba (1996)Description / Buy at
Three Hands in the Fountain (1997)Description / Buy at
Two for the Lions (1998)Description / Buy at
One Virgin Too Many (1999)Description / Buy at
Ode to a Banker (2000)Description / Buy at
A Body in the Bathhouse (2001)Description / Buy at
The Jupiter Myth (2002)Description / Buy at
The Accusers (2003)Description / Buy at
Scandal Takes a Holiday (2004)Description / Buy at
See Delphi and Die (2005)Description / Buy at
Saturnalia (2007)Description / Buy at
Alexandria (2009)Description / Buy at
Nemesis (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Marcus Didius Falco Non-Fiction Books

Falco: The Official Companion (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Flavia Albia Mystery Books

The Ides of April (2013)Description / Buy at
Enemies at Home (2014)Description / Buy at
The Spook Who Spoke Again (2015)Description / Buy at
Deadly Election (2015)Description / Buy at
The Graveyard of the Hesperides (2016)Description / Buy at
The Third Nero (2017)Description / Buy at
Pandora's Boy (2018)Description / Buy at
Invitation to Die (2019)Description / Buy at
A Capitol Death (2020)Description / Buy at
The Grove of the Caesars (2020)Description / Buy at
A Comedy of Terrors (2021)Description / Buy at
Desperate Undertaking (2022)Description / Buy at
Fatal Legacy (2023)Description / Buy at
Death on the Tiber (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Course of Honour (1997)Description / Buy at
Rebels and Traitors (2009)Description / Buy at
Master and God (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Cruel Fate (2014)Description / Buy at
Vesuvius by Night (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

There Are Good Ships (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Voices of Rome (With: A M Heath & Co Ltd) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mysterious Press Anniversary Anthology: Celebrating 25 Years(2001)Description / Buy at
The Detection Collection(2005)Description / Buy at
Deadly Pleasures(2013)Description / Buy at
A Love Letter to Europe(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lindsey Davis Books, You’ll Love…

Lindsey Davis Synopsis: A Cruel Fate by Lindsey Davis is a QuickReads release, set during the English Civil War. Bookseller Martin Watts has been captured by Royalists, along with Jane Afton’s brother Nat. They’re treated poorly as POWs, being beaten, tortured and starved by William Smith, an Oxford Castle jailor. Will Jane be able to save her brother before his body gives in?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lindsey Davis Books

Leave a Reply