Georgette Heyer (1902-1974) was a British author of historical romance and detective fiction. She is best known for the creation of the Regency romance subgenre. Heyer is often compared to Jane Austen (whose novels are set in similar time periods), although Austen wrote her romances in contemporary times, whereas Heyer would have to detail the settings.

Georgette had her first novel published in 1921, which was titled The Black Moth. She is a prolific author, having at least one novel published each year for most of her career. Below is a list of Georgette Heyer’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Inspector Hannasyde Books

Death in the Stocks / Merely Murder (1935)Description / Buy at
Behold, Here's Poison (1936)Description / Buy at
They Found Him Dead (1937)Description / Buy at
A Blunt Instrument (1938)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Party / Envious Casca (1941)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Hemingway Books

No Wind of Blame (1939)Description / Buy at
Envious Casca (1941)Description / Buy at
Duplicate Death (1951)Description / Buy at
Detection Unlimited (1953)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Alastair-Audley Books

These Old Shades (1926)Description / Buy at
Devil's Cub (1932)Description / Buy at
Regency Buck (1935)Description / Buy at
An Infamous Army (1937)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Black Moth (1921)Description / Buy at
Powder And Patch (1923)Description / Buy at
The Transformation of Philip Jettan (1923)Description / Buy at
The Great Roxhythe (1923)Description / Buy at
Simon the Coldheart (1925)Description / Buy at
The Masqueraders (1928)Description / Buy at
Helen (1928)Description / Buy at
Beauvallet (1929)Description / Buy at
Barren Corn (1930)Description / Buy at
The Conqueror (1931)Description / Buy at
Footsteps in the Dark (1932)Description / Buy at
Why Shoot a Butler? (1933)Description / Buy at
The Convenient Marriage (1934)Description / Buy at
The Unfinished Clue (1934)Description / Buy at
The Talisman Ring (1936)Description / Buy at
Royal Escape (1938)Description / Buy at
The Corinthian (1940)Description / Buy at
The Spanish Bride (1940)Description / Buy at
Faro's Daughter (1941)Description / Buy at
Penhallow (1942)Description / Buy at
Friday's Child (1944)Description / Buy at
The Reluctant Widow (1946)Description / Buy at
The Foundling (1948)Description / Buy at
Arabella (1949)Description / Buy at
The Grand Sophy (1950)Description / Buy at
The Quiet Gentleman (1951)Description / Buy at
Cotillion (1953)Description / Buy at
The Toll-Gate (1954)Description / Buy at
Bath Tangle (1955)Description / Buy at
Sprig Muslin (1956)Description / Buy at
Sylvester (1957)Description / Buy at
April Lady (1957)Description / Buy at
Sylvester or The Wicked Uncle (1957)Description / Buy at
Venetia (1958)Description / Buy at
The Unknown Ajax (1959)Description / Buy at
Pistols for Two (1960)Description / Buy at
A Civil Contract (1961)Description / Buy at
The Nonesuch (1962)Description / Buy at
False Colours (1963)Description / Buy at
Frederica (1965)Description / Buy at
Black Sheep (1966)Description / Buy at
Cousin Kate (1968)Description / Buy at
Charity Girl (1970)Description / Buy at
Instead of the Thorn (1971)Description / Buy at
Lady Of Quality (1972)Description / Buy at
My Lord John (1975)Description / Buy at
Pastel (1976)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Proposal to Cicely (1922)Description / Buy at
Linckes' Great Case (1923)Description / Buy at
The Little Lady (2019)Description / Buy at
The Bulldog and the Beast (2019)Description / Buy at
The Chinese Shawl (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Snowdrift and Other Stories (1960)Description / Buy at
Pistols for Two and Other Stories (1970)Description / Buy at
Acting on Impulse – Contemporary Short Stories of Georgette Heyer (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Anthology of Love and Romance(1994)Description / Buy at
Bodies from the Library(2019)Description / Buy at
Love, Lust and Passion in Regency Times(2021)Description / Buy at
The Bridgerthonian Novels(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Corinthian is also known as Beau Wyndham. Death in the Stocks was also published as Merely Murder. The Transformation of Philip Jettan was later published as Powder and Patch. Instead of the Thorn was published using the pen name of Stella Martin.

If You Like Georgette Heyer Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Georgette Heyer Books

2 Responses to “Order of Georgette Heyer Books”

  1. Audrey Simpson: 2 years ago

    ++++++++++++++++++with much love from Audrey


  2. Mongoose218: 7 years ago

    LOVE the Georgette Heyer Regency era books!

    She INVENTED the genre, which is now so overused, but she was first….she studied the diaries and old letters and whatever else she could find to learn how the people TALKED, what they wore, what they ate, how they acted, what the “rules” of the society they lived in were…….NONE of her books are an excuse to run a soft porn scene! Nor do any of her books have 20th century/ 21st century people merely “dressed up” as 18th-19th century people, but speaking and acting like we do…..they are REAL!

    Next to the great Jane Austen, she presents the Regency era as it really was!


Leave a Reply