Steven Saylor is an American author of historical fiction as well as gay erotic fiction anthologies under the pseudonym of Aaron Travis. He is best known for his Roma Sub Rosa series, featuring the main character Gordianus the Finder, as well as famous historical Roman figures. His work has been translated into 20 languages. Steven has also written contemporary standalone titles. He has been with his partner Richard since 1976, splitting their time between California and Texas.

Steven Saylor became a published author in 1990 with his debut novel Roman Blood. Below is a list of Steven Saylor’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Steven Saylor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Roma Sub Rosa Books

Roman Blood (1991)Description / Buy at
Arms of Nemesis (1992)Description / Buy at
Catilina's Riddle (1993)Description / Buy at
The Venus Throw (1995)Description / Buy at
A Murder on the Appian Way (1996)Description / Buy at
The House of the Vestals (1997)Description / Buy at
Rubicon (1999)Description / Buy at
Last Seen in Massilia (2000)Description / Buy at
A Mist of Prophecies (2002)Description / Buy at
The Judgment of Caesar (2004)Description / Buy at
A Gladiator Dies Only Once (2005)Description / Buy at
The Triumph of Caesar (2009)Description / Buy at
The Throne of Caesar (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ancient World Books

The Seven Wonders (2012)Description / Buy at
Raiders of the Nile (2014)Description / Buy at
Wrath of the Furies (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rome Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Honour the Dead (2000)Description / Buy at
Have You Seen Dawn? (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Will is a Way (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

My Mother's Ghost (2013)Description / Buy at
Future, Present, Past (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Bookish Bent (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Growing Up Gay/Growing Up Lesbian: A Literary Anthology(1993)Description / Buy at
The Best American Erotica 1996(1996)Description / Buy at
Warriors 1(2010)Description / Buy at
Rogues(2014)Description / Buy at

Notes: Before writing under his own name, Saylor wrote homosexual erotic fiction under the pseudonym of Aaron Travis. Honour the Dead was also published as A Twist at the End.

If You Like Steven Saylor Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steven Saylor Books

Leave a Reply