Roma Sub Rosa is a series of historical mysteries by American novelist Steven Saylor. The main character is a fictional detective named Gordianus the Finder, but over the course of the series, he interacts with several historical Roman figures like Julius Caesar, Mark Antony, Pompey, Sulla, Cicero and others.

The Roma Sub Rosa series began in 1990 with the novel Roman Blood. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Steven Saylor’s Roma Sub Rosa books in order of when they were originally published as well as in chronological order:

Get notified when Steven Saylor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Roma Sub Rosa Books

Roman Blood(1991)Description / Buy at
Arms of Nemesis(1992)Description / Buy at
Catilina's Riddle(1993)Description / Buy at
The Venus Throw(1995)Description / Buy at
A Murder on the Appian Way(1996)Description / Buy at
The House of the Vestals(1997)Description / Buy at
Rubicon(1999)Description / Buy at
Last Seen in Massilia(2000)Description / Buy at
A Mist of Prophecies(2002)Description / Buy at
The Judgment of Caesar(2004)Description / Buy at
A Gladiator Dies Only Once(2005)Description / Buy at
The Triumph of Caesar(2009)Description / Buy at
The Throne of Caesar(2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ancient World Books

The Seven Wonders(2012)Description / Buy at
Raiders of the Nile(2014)Description / Buy at
Wrath of the Furies(2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rome Books

If You Like Roma Sub Rosa Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Roma Sub Rosa Books

Leave a Reply