SPQR is a series of historical fiction set in Ancient Rome by American novelist John Maddox Roberts. The books fall into the mystery/detective fiction genres as well. SPQR stands for “Senatus Populusque Romanus,” which means “The Senate and People of Rome.”

The SPQR series started in 1990 with The King’s Gambit, which was originally titled SPQR before the sequels were published. Since that time, John Maddox Roberts has published a total of 13 novels in the SPQR series. Below is the order in which the SPQR books were first released in:

Publication Order of SPQR Books

The King's Gambit(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Catiline Conspiracy(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sacrilege(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Temple of the Muses(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Saturnalia(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nobody Loves a Centurion(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Tribune's Curse(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The River God's Vengeance(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Princess and the Pirates(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Point of Law(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Under Vesuvius(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Oracle of the Dead(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Year of Confusion(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The King’s Gambit is also known as SPQR.

If You Like SPQR Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of SPQR Books

Leave a Reply