Do I even need to tell you who Harry Potter is? Harry is of course the young wizard featured in numerous incredibly famous books written by author JK Rowling. The books have also launched the infamous movie series.

Below is the order of all of the Harry Potter books, as well as recommendations for other books like Harry Potter:

Publication Order of Harry Potter Books

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's / Philosopher's Stone (1997) |
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998) |
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999) |
Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire (2000) |
Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix (2003) |
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005) |
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007) |
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2016) |

Publication Order of Harry Potter Companion Books

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2000) |
Quidditch Through the Ages (2001) |
The Tales of Beedle the Bard (2007) |

Publication Order of Harry Potter: A Journey Through... Books

A Journey Through Charms and Defence Against the Dark Arts (2019) |
A Journey Through Potions and Herbology (2019) |
A Journey Through Divination and Astronomy (2019) |
A Journey Through Care of Magical Creatures (2019) |

Chronological Order of Harry Potter Books

The chronological order of the Harry Potter books is the same as the publication order.

If You Like Harry Potter Books, You’ll Love…

Notes: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is the US title of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was written by John Tiffany & Jack Thorne, based on the work of J.K. Rowling.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Harry Potter Books

4 Responses to “Order of Harry Potter Books”

  1. Kathy Wehr: 9 months ago

    In 1997 my mother, an avid reader all of her life, was 83 years old. She had gone blind several years previously but continued to “read” via audio books.

    I had never heard of Harry Potter but saw an elaborate display of the book “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” in our local book store. Since the audio book had so many discs I bought a copy thinking it would entertain my mother for a long time. This first book, and all the following books in the series entertained her for ten years. (Through 2007) She died in 2012 at the age of 98.

    Thank you J.K. Rowling for giving my mother an enchanting way to spend her final years.


  2. guest: 10 years ago

    its not philoshpers stone its soceres stone get it rite man


    • : 10 years ago


      And it IS Philosopher’s Stone. Sorcerer’s Stone was a one-off version made for the USA, because they felt Americans were too ignorant to read a book with the words “Philosopher” in the title.


      • Guest: 10 years ago

        I think we may have just seen an example of that ignorance, LOL!


Leave a Reply