Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary
Henry Huggins is the main character in a series of children’s novels by American author Beverly Cleary. Henry Huggins lives on Klickitat Street in Portland, Oregon along with his dog, Ribsy. The books explore the neighbourhood and the fellow children who live there. The series is set during the 1950s – at the time they were written. Henry also makes appearances in Cleary’s Ramona Quimby series.

Beverly Cleary debuted her Henry Huggins character with her first book, Henry Huggins. The novel was published in 1950. The series includes six books, concluding with Ribsy in 1964. Below is a list of Beverly Cleary’s Henry Huggins books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Henry Huggins Books

Henry Huggins(1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Henry and Beezus(1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Henry and Ribsy(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Henry and the Paper Route(1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Henry and the Clubhouse(1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ribsy(1964)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Henry Huggins Books, You’ll Love…

Henry Huggins Synopsis: In Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary, nothing exciting ever happens to Henry. That is, until a stray dog wants his ice cream and eats it all at once. Henry immediately takes a liking to the dog and decides to keep him, naming him Ribsy. Before Henry can even make it home with his new best friend, he spends all of his money, gets kicked off of three different buses and takes a ride in a police car… and that’s only the beginning!

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Henry Huggins Books

Leave a Reply