The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is a series of science fiction/comedy franchise created by English author Douglas Adams. The series started out as a radio broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 1978, but was then adapted into a series of novels as well as a TV series, stage plays, comic books, a computer game and a 2005 movie. The novels sold 15 million copies during Adams’ lifetime.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy book series began with the title novel in 1979. The “trilogy” would go on to last five books, plus one more written by Eoin Colfer in 2009. Below is a list of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy Books

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy(1979)Description / Buy at
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe(1980)Description / Buy at
Life, the Universe and Everything(1982)Description / Buy at
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish(1984)Description / Buy at
Young Zaphod Plays It Safe(1986)Description / Buy at
Mostly Harmless(1992)Description / Buy at
And Another Thing...(2009)Description / Buy at

Notes: And Another Thing… was written by Eoin Colfer based on the work of Douglas Adams.

If You Like Douglas Adams Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy Books

Leave a Reply