Jim Stringer is a series of historical novels by author Andrew Martin. The series stars Jim Stringer as a railwayman who is reassigned to the North Eastern Railway police in Edwardian England to the early 1900s.

Martin won the 2011 CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award for The Somme Stations. Martin was named as a Spectator (London) Young Writer of the Year. Additionally, he has written for the Guardian, the Daily Telegraph, Granta, and he has a weekly column in the New Statesman. He makes his home in London.

Get notified when Andrew Martin releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Jim Stringer Books

The Necropolis Railway(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blackpool Highflyer(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lost Luggage Porter(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder at Deviation Junction(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death on a Branch Line(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Train to Scarborough(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Somme Stations(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Baghdad Railway Club(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night Train to Jamalpur(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jim Stringer Books, You’ll Love…

The Necropolis Railway is the first book in the Jim Stringer series. The book sees Jim Stringer as he is making the move to the garish and tawdry London of 1903. His work as a railwayman leads to him getting a job on the mysterious graveyard line. The men he works with do not like him and Stringer soon learns that his predecessor disappeared under mysterious circumstances. Jim decides to investigate to find out just what is happening with this line as he does not want to end up dead.

Another good book in the series is called Night Train to Jamalpur. This book takes place in North East India in 1923. The story begins with a man being shot dead in the first class compartment on the broiling Night Mail from Calcutta to Jamalpur. Jim Stringer was sleeping in the next compartment at the time and wonders if he was actually the intended target. To make matters worse, someone is placing venomous snakes in the first class compartments of the railway. Jim was hoping for a working vacation here, but once again finds himself investigating a murder. In addition to this, Jim feels he must keep his daughter safe after she forms a connection with a Maharajah’s son.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jim Stringer Books

Leave a Reply