Mick Herron
Mick Herron is an English author of crime thriller novels. He writes the Zoe Boehm and Slough House series. Herron was born in Newcastle, England. He earned his English degree from Balliol College, Oxford. Mick’s short stories have regularly appeared in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. He lives in Oxford, but works in London.

Mick Herron became a published novelist in 2003 with the novel Down Cemetery Road. Below is a list of Mick Herron’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Mick Herron releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Zoe Boehm Books

Down Cemetery Road (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Voice You Hear (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Why We Die (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Smoke and Whispers (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Slough House Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Reconstruction (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nobody Walks (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
This is What Happened (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret Hours (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

All the Livelong Day and Other Stories (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dolphin Junction (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Usual Santas(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The Usual Santas also has stories by Helene Tursten, Cara Black and Stuart Neville.

If You Like Mick Herron Books, You’ll Love…

Mick Herron Synopses: Reconstruction is a standalone thriller by Mick Herron. When a gunman breaks into South Oxford Nursery School, taking hostages, teacher Louise Kennedy fears the worst. But Jaime Segura is not looking for a bodycount, and he’s just as scared as his hostages. As the police gather around the school, the only person Jaime will talk to is Ben Whistler, an MI6 accountant who worked with Jaime’s lover, Miro. Miro’s gone missing, along with a quarter of a billion pounds allotted for reconstruction work in Iraq. Jaime refuses to believe that Miro is a thief — though he’s always had his secrets. But then, so does Louise, so do the other hostages — and so do some people on the outside, who want Jaime taken out.

Nobody Walks is a standalone novel by Mick Herron. Tom Bettany’s life unfolds amidst the hum of a meat processing plant in France. Unexpectedly, a voicemail from an unfamiliar Englishwoman shatters his routine, bearing the somber news of his estranged son’s passing. Liam Bettany, just 26, met his end in a tragic fall from his London balcony—a chilling incident linked to his use of marijuana.

Jolted from his routine by this grim revelation, Tom faces a poignant moment. The chasm between him and his son, a void he contributed to, gnaws at him. The weight of guilt and the quest for truth converge, compelling Tom to return to his native London. The journey holds an enigma he is determined to unravel—the truth behind his son’s demise. As he delves into this mystery, he peels away layers of obfuscation. This may stem from a desire to find redemption for the estrangement or perhaps because he has stumbled upon a far-reaching conspiracy. Regardless, Tom embarks on a relentless pursuit to unearth the reality of the tragedy, his unwavering resolve brushing aside the concerns of those he may disconcert.

However, his reentry into the world he once left behind does not go unnoticed. The very fabric of society he thought he’d escaped remains intricately woven, and the mere whisper of his return reverberates across the spectrum—from incarcerated criminal overlords to high-ranking operatives within MI5. The gravity of his journey forces Tom to confront a reality he thought he’d left behind when he initially fled town, a truth that echoes the adage that no one truly walks away from their past.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mick Herron Books

Leave a Reply