John Putnam Thatcher by Emma Lathen
John Putnam Thatcher is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by Emma Lathen (Mary Jane Latsis and Martha Henissart). The sleuth of this series, John Putnam Thatcher, is also a Wall Street banker. The books are often set during real events, such as the Colonels’ Revolution in Greece or the Winter Olympics in Lake Placid, New York.

Emma Lathen began the John Putnam Thatcher series in 1961 with the novel Banking on Death. The series lasted 24 novels, with the last being A Shark Out of Water in 1997. Below is a list of Emma Lathen’s John Putnam Thatcher’s books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Emma Lathen releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Putnam Thatcher Books

Banking on Death(1961)Description / Buy at
A Place for Murder(1963)Description / Buy at
Accounting for Murder(1964)Description / Buy at
Murder Makes the Wheels Go 'Round(1966)Description / Buy at
Death Shall Overcome(1966)Description / Buy at
Murder Against the Grain(1967)Description / Buy at
A Stitch in Time(1968)Description / Buy at
Come to Dust(1968)Description / Buy at
When in Greece(1969)Description / Buy at
Murder To Go(1969)Description / Buy at
Pick Up Sticks(1970)Description / Buy at
Ashes to Ashes(1971)Description / Buy at
The Longer the Thread(1971)Description / Buy at
Murder Without Icing(1972)Description / Buy at
Sweet and Low(1974)Description / Buy at
By Hook or by Crook(1975)Description / Buy at
Double, Double, Oil and Trouble(1978)Description / Buy at
Going for the Gold(1980)Description / Buy at
Green Grow the Dollars(1982)Description / Buy at
Something in the Air(1988)Description / Buy at
East Is East(1991)Description / Buy at
Right on the Money(1993)Description / Buy at
Brewing Up a Storm(1996)Description / Buy at
A Shark Out of Water(1997)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Putnam Thatcher Books, You’ll Love…

John Putnam Thatcher Synopses: Murder Against the Grain by Emma Lathen is the sixth book in the John Putnam Thatcher series. $985,000 has been stolen from the Sloan in a letter of credit situation with forged documents; John Putnam Thatcher gets involved to save the Sloan the money and finds the murders in the process.

A Stitch in Time is the seventh John Putnam Thatcher book from Emma Lathen. A wealthy childless widower gets his affairs in order; makes the Sloan his executor; and tries to commit suicide but fails. 4 days later he dies in the Southport hospital due to malpractice – or so it would appear. This soon evolves into murder and more.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Putnam Thatcher Books

Leave a Reply