Matthew Scudder is a fictional character who appears in a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Lawrence Block, set in New York City. Out of the many different characters Lawrence Block has created, the consensus is that Scudder is the greatest of all of them. Matt Scudder is a recovering alcoholic, which has been suggested is autobiographical of Block.

The Matthew Scudder series began in 1976 with The Sins of the Father. Below is a list of Lawrence Block’s Matt Scudder books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Lawrence Block releases a new book at

Publication Order of Matthew Scudder Books

The Sins of the Fathers(1976)Description / Buy at
Time to Murder and Create(1976)Description / Buy at
In the Midst of Death(1976)Description / Buy at
A Stab in the Dark(1981)Description / Buy at
Eight Million Ways to Die(1982)Description / Buy at
When the Sacred Ginmill Closes(1986)Description / Buy at
Out on the Cutting Edge(1989)Description / Buy at
A Ticket to the Boneyard(1990)Description / Buy at
A Dance at the Slaughterhouse(1991)Description / Buy at
A Walk Among the Tombstones(1992)Description / Buy at
The Devil Knows You're Dead(1993)Description / Buy at
A Long Line of Dead Men(1994)Description / Buy at
Even the Wicked(1996)Description / Buy at
Out the Window(1997)Description / Buy at
Everybody Dies(1998)Description / Buy at
Hope to Die(2001)Description / Buy at
A Moment of Wrong Thinking(2002)Description / Buy at
All the Flowers are Dying(2005)Description / Buy at
A Drop of the Hard Stuff(2011)Description / Buy at
Let's Get Lost(2011)Description / Buy at
A Candle for the Bag Lady(2012)Description / Buy at
A Time to Scatter Stones(2018)Description / Buy at
The Autobiography of Matthew Scudder(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Matthew Scudder Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Matthew Scudder Books

2 Responses to “Order of Matthew Scudder Books”

  1. Thomas Jacobus: 3 years ago

    This is wonderful to have. I recently ( 3 years ago) have started enjoying the novels of Lawerence Block and now I am going to start on this series. It is always essential to me to read series of this type in order or at least try to. Came upon the 3rd one and read it first, loved the concept and premise, so now I will be purchasing these in the proper order and reading them the same way.


  2. Edward Kirk: 7 years ago

    Absolutely imperative that you read the Scudder novels in sequence, as you chart his life and times over nearly 30 years.


Leave a Reply