Evan Michael Tanner, usually referred to simply as Tanner, is a character featured in a series of crime fiction novels by American author Lawrence Block. Tanner fought in the the Korean War and was a perfect soldier until his sleeping quarters was destroyed by shrapnel, leaving him an insomniac.

The Tanner character made his debut in 1966 in The Thief Who Couldn’t Sleep. There are eight novels in the series, with the last one being published in 1998. Below is a list of Lawrence Block’s Tanner books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Lawrence Block releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Evan Tanner Books

The Thief Who Couldn't Sleep(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Canceled Czech(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tanner's Twelve Swingers(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Here Comes a Hero / Tanner's Virgin(1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Scoreless Thai / Two for Tanner(1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tanner's Tiger(1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Me Tanner, You Jane(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tanner on Ice(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Two for Tanner is also known as The Scoreless Thai. Here Comes a Hero was also published as Tanner’s Virgin.

If You Like Evan Tanner Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Evan Tanner Books

Leave a Reply