Mike Hammer is a fictional character featured in a series of hardboiled crime fiction novels by American novelist Mickey Spillane and later American novelist Max Allan Collins. Following World War II, Spillane conceived of a comic book character named Mike Danger, which ended up becoming a detective fiction character named Mike Hammer. The character is a no-holds-barred private investigator, fuelled by rage against violent crime. He considers the law an impediment to justice, although he holds most cops in high regard. The character has reached across to other mediums, including several television shows, movies, a comic strip and radio.

The Mike Hammer series began in 1947 with the novel I, the Jury. The last novel that Spillane would be directly involved with was The Goliath Bone in 2008. Despite Spillane, the series remains ongoing with new installments being written by Max Allan Collins. Below is a list of Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins’ Mike Hammer books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Mike Hammer Books

(By: Mickey Spillane, Max Allan Collins)

Publication Order of's Mike Hammer Graphic Novels

(By: Mickey Spillane, Max Allan Collins)

Mickey Spillane's Mike Hammer #1(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mickey Spillane's Mike Hammer #2(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Mike Hammer Audio Books

The New Adventures of Mickey Spillane's Mike Hammer(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Little Death(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Encore for Murder(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: As of The Goliath Bone, the Mike Hammer novels are co-authored (or ghostwritten) by Max Allan Collins.

If You Like Mike Hammer Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mike Hammer Books

Leave a Reply