Adam Dalgleish is a fictional character appearing in a series of mystery novels by British author P.D. James. He works at New Scotland Yard in London, starting out as a Detective Chief Inspector and rising through the ranks as the series progresses. Dalgliesh is a gentleman detective, a staple of British detective fiction.

Adam Dalgliesh made his first appearance all the way back in 1962 (in the first novel in the series, Cover Her Face) with over a dozen novels in the series ever since then. Below is a list of P.D. James’ Adam Dalgliesh books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Adam Dalgliesh Books

Cover Her Face(1962)Description / Buy at
A Mind to Murder(1963)Description / Buy at
Unnatural Causes(1967)Description / Buy at
Shroud for a Nightingale(1971)Description / Buy at
The Black Tower(1975)Description / Buy at
Death of an Expert Witness(1977)Description / Buy at
A Taste for Death(1986)Description / Buy at
Devices and Desires(1989)Description / Buy at
Original Sin(1994)Description / Buy at
A Certain Justice(1997)Description / Buy at
Death in Holy Orders(2001)Description / Buy at
The Murder Room(2003)Description / Buy at
The Lighthouse(2005)Description / Buy at
The Private Patient(2008)Description / Buy at

If You Like Adam Dalgliesh Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Adam Dalgliesh Books

Leave a Reply