Inspector Thomas Lynley is a character featured in a series of mystery novels by American author Elizabeth George. Inspector Lynley is the 8th Earl of Asherton. Lynley and his partner Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers are with Scotland Yard. Several of the Inspector Lynley novels have been adapted for the BBC series The Inspector Lynley Mysteries.

The Inspector Lynley book series began in 1988 with A Great Deliverance. Below is the order of Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley books in order of when they were originally released (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Elizabeth George releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Lynley Books

(By: Elizabeth George, Elizabeth George)

A Great Deliverance(1988)Description / Buy at
Payment in Blood(1989)Description / Buy at
Well-Schooled in Murder(1989)Description / Buy at
A Suitable Vengeance(1991)Description / Buy at
For the Sake of Elena(1992)Description / Buy at
Missing Joseph(1992)Description / Buy at
Playing for the Ashes(1994)Description / Buy at
In the Presence of the Enemy(1996)Description / Buy at
Deception on His Mind(1997)Description / Buy at
In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner(1999)Description / Buy at
A Traitor to Memory(2001)Description / Buy at
A Place of Hiding(2003)Description / Buy at
With No One as Witness(2005)Description / Buy at
What Came Before He Shot Her(2006)Description / Buy at
Careless in Red(2008)Description / Buy at
This Body of Death(2010)Description / Buy at
Believing the Lie(2012)Description / Buy at
Just One Evil Act(2013)Description / Buy at
A Banquet of Consequences(2015)Description / Buy at
The Punishment She Deserves(2018)Description / Buy at
Something to Hide(2022)Description / Buy at
A Suitable Vengeance is a prequel novel in the Inspector Lynley series and should be read before A Great Deliverance when reading the novels in chronological order.

If You Like Inspector Lynley Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Lynley Books

9 Responses to “Order of Inspector Lynley Books”

  1. Cindy dailey: 2 years ago

    In which book was Deborah injured and in California?t


  2. Karen Secker: 2 years ago

    I’m currently watching the Inspector Lynley dvds but some of the episodes don’t appear to be in book form. Are some of the books published under different titles in the USA, and if so what are the English titles?


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      From season 3 onwards, the majority of it was not based on any books.


  3. pippin2: 6 years ago

    I just finished “A Banquet of Consequences” and was very disappointed in it..the story line was not something I cared for but it did fit in with some of today’s culture. Her earlier books were so much better and am hesitant to read her latest.


  4. Hazel Marie Graves: 9 years ago

    Couild you please tell me what order to read the Inspector Lynley series? I am reading it right now but I have no clue which book goes first.


  5. puzzled: 10 years ago

    Which book did Havers fire a gun at a senior officer.


    • Janette Kok: 5 years ago

      Deception on His Mind


  6. john hoffman: 11 years ago

    Unless I’m missing something, “A Suitable Vengeance” is chronologically prior to all the other novels in the series, despite being the fourth published.


    • Brandon: 11 years ago

      You’re right. Thank you!


Leave a Reply