Thomas Pitt is a fictional character created by English novelist Anne Perry and the protagonist in a series of detective fiction novels set in Victorian London. He is a police inspector. Charlotte Pitt is his wife, who is from an upper-class family with connections that often help her husband out in his investigations.

The Thomas Pitt series began in 1979 with The Cater Street Hangman. The series concluded with the 2017 novel Murder on the Serpentine. Below is a list of Anne Perry’s Thomas Pitt books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Charlotte & Thomas Pitt Books

The Cater Street Hangman(1979)Description / Buy at
Callander Square(1980)Description / Buy at
Paragon Walk(1981)Description / Buy at
Resurrection Row(1981)Description / Buy at
Rutland Place(1983)Description / Buy at
Bluegate Fields(1984)Description / Buy at
Death in The Devil's Acre(1985)Description / Buy at
Cardington Crescent(1987)Description / Buy at
Silence in Hanover Close(1988)Description / Buy at
Bethlehem Road(1990)Description / Buy at
Highgate Rise(1991)Description / Buy at
Belgrave Square(1992)Description / Buy at
Farriers' Lane(1993)Description / Buy at
The Hyde Park Headsman(1994)Description / Buy at
Traitors Gate(1995)Description / Buy at
Pentecost Alley(1996)Description / Buy at
Ashworth Hall(1997)Description / Buy at
Brunswick Gardens(1998)Description / Buy at
Bedford Square(1998)Description / Buy at
Half Moon Street(1998)Description / Buy at
The Whitechapel Conspiracy(2000)Description / Buy at
Southampton Row(2002)Description / Buy at
Seven Dials(2003)Description / Buy at
Long Spoon Lane(2005)Description / Buy at
Buckingham Palace Gardens(2008)Description / Buy at
Betrayal at Lisson Grove / Treason at Lisson Grove(2010)Description / Buy at
Dorchester Terrace(2011)Description / Buy at
Midnight at Marble Arch(2012)Description / Buy at
Death on Blackheath(2014)Description / Buy at
The Angel Court Affair(2015)Description / Buy at
Treachery at Lancaster Gate(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Serpentine(2017)Description / Buy at

Note: Betrayal at Lisson Grove was also published as Treason at Lisson Grove.

If You Like Charlotte & Thomas Pitt Books, You’ll Love…

Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Synopses: The Cater Street Hangman by Anne Perry is book 1 in the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series. The Ellison household is plunged into a maelstrom of panic and terror when one of their own becomes the prey of the notorious Cater Street murderer. In a chilling series of events, the maid of the household falls victim to a ruthless killer who employs cheese wire to strangle his young victims. The lifeless bodies, their faces grotesquely swollen, are left discarded on the dimly lit streets of the genteel neighborhood.

As Mrs. Ellison and her daughters are absent, Inspector Pitt is tasked with unraveling the macabre mystery. His investigation delves deep into the heart of upper-class society, as he must navigate the intricate labyrinth of privilege and propriety to unearth the truth. With determination and perseverance, Pitt peels away the polished façade of the elite world, exposing hidden secrets and forbidden desires. In a realm where appearances are paramount, suspicion looms larger than the stark reality.

Charlotte Ellison, an outspoken woman struggling to maintain her stance within the confining norms of Victorian society, finds herself entangled in the enigmatic case. Despite the rigid boundaries of their social positions, she engages in spirited exchanges with the vexing policeman. Through these interactions, a surprising connection blossoms between them, evolving from adversarial exchanges to a budding romance.

As their partnership deepens, the unlikely pair embarks on a race against time to decipher the cryptic puzzle before the noose of the hangman claims another victim. Against the backdrop of a society rife with secrets and intrigue, Inspector Pitt and Charlotte Ellison must join forces to expose the true face of the Cater Street murderer, unmasking the darkness that lurks beneath the veneer of respectability.

Callander Square by Anne Perry is book 2 in the series. In the tranquil confines of Callander Square, a serene oasis nestled within an exclusive London neighborhood, the discovery of two tiny, lifeless infants disrupts the carefully cultivated lives of its privileged inhabitants. These upper-class residents dismiss the graves as the tragic acts of a desperate young woman, seeking to shield their well-ordered existences from the intrusion of Inspector Thomas Pitt. Yet, Pitt remains steadfastly unconvinced, refusing to let the case be discarded so easily.

Meanwhile, his resourceful wife, Charlotte, is equally captivated by the enigma. Drawn by her insatiable curiosity and emboldened by her position in society, she launches her own clandestine investigation into the labyrinthine parlors and inner sanctums of the grand mansions lining Callander Square. Alongside her sister Emily, Lady Ashworth, a resident of the square, Charlotte delves deep into the lives and secrets of its inhabitants.

As the expectant couple, Thomas and Charlotte form an unlikely yet formidable investigative duo. The allure of hidden chambers and elegant closets becomes irresistible, compelling them to unveil the long-concealed skeletons of the aristocratic elite. In the process, they unearth secrets of betrayal, blackmail, and passions hidden beneath the veneer of respectability—secrets that could drive even the most upright nobleman to the brink of murder.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Books

Leave a Reply