The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency is a series of mystery novels by Scottish author Alexander McCall Smith. The series is set in Botswana and the main protagonist is Mma Precious Ramotswe. The series covers a lot of issues, including women in traditional and non-traditional occupations, rural life, religion, depression and AIDS. It has been adapted into a radio series and a TV series.

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency began in 1998 with a novel of the same name. The series contains over a dozen novels, with a new novel coming out most years. Below is a list of Alexander McCall Smith’s No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Alexander McCall Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Books

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency(1998)Description / Buy at
Tears of the Giraffe(2000)Description / Buy at
Morality for Beautiful Girls(2001)Description / Buy at
The Kalahari Typing School for Men(2002)Description / Buy at
The Full Cupboard of Life(2003)Description / Buy at
In the Company of Cheerful Ladies(2004)Description / Buy at
Blue Shoes and Happiness(2006)Description / Buy at
The Good Husband of Zebra Drive(2007)Description / Buy at
The Miracle at Speedy Motors(2008)Description / Buy at
Tea Time for the Traditionally Built(2009)Description / Buy at
The Double Comfort Safari Club(2010)Description / Buy at
The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party(2010)Description / Buy at
The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection(2012)Description / Buy at
The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon(2013)Description / Buy at
The Handsome Man's De Luxe Café(2014)Description / Buy at
The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine(2015)Description / Buy at
Precious and Grace(2016)Description / Buy at
The House of Unexpected Sisters(2017)Description / Buy at
The Colors of All the Cattle(2018)Description / Buy at
To the Land of Long Lost Friends(2019)Description / Buy at
How to Raise an Elephant(2020)Description / Buy at
The Joy and Light Bus Company(2021)Description / Buy at
A Song of Comfortable Chairs(2022)Description / Buy at
From a Far and Lovely Country(2023)Description / Buy at
The Great Hippopotamus Hotel(2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Collections

The Cleverness of Ladies(2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: In the Company of Cheerful Ladies was also published as The Night-Time Dancer. The Great Cake Mystery, a novella for younger readers, was also published as Precious and the Puggies (translated into Scots) and Precious and the Monkeys in English.

If You Like No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books

2 Responses to “Order of No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books”

  1. Janet Shira: 3 months ago

    These are wonderful books truly a treasure


  2. Marty Langston: 10 years ago

    I just love these books. Not only are they good reads but great morality teachers! Hope to see and read more of Mme Precious Ramotswe!


Leave a Reply