Nic Costa by David Hewson
Nic Costa is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction/mystery novels by British novelist David Hewson. Costa is a young detective based out of Rome, Italy. He has an affinity for fine art. Due to his age, he can be a little naive, but as honest as they come. The rights to the series have been acquired by Bavaria for a television adaptation.

David Hewson began his Nic Costa series in 2003 with the novel A Season for the Dead. There is currently 9 novels in the series. Although each novel is connected with the same characters, they are all standalone stories and thus can be read in any order you wish. Below is a list of David Hewson’s books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when David Hewson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Nic Costa Books

A Season for the Dead(2003)Description / Buy at
The Villa of Mysteries(2003)Description / Buy at
The Sacred Cut(2005)Description / Buy at
The Lizard's Bite(2006)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Sacrament(2007)Description / Buy at
The Garden of Evil(2007)Description / Buy at
Dante's Numbers / The Dante Killings(2008)Description / Buy at
The Blue Demon / City of Fear(2010)Description / Buy at
The Fallen Angel(2011)Description / Buy at
The Savage Shore(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: Dante’s Numbers was revised as The Dante Killings in the United States. The Blue Demon was re-titled City of Fear in the United States.

If You Like Nic Costa Books, You’ll Love…

David Hewson Synopsis: A Season for the Dead is the first Nic Costa novel by David Hewson. Sara Farnese reads through some ancient texts in a reading room in the Vatican. Little does she know, elsewhere, a brutal murder takes place in a church. Then, a man enters the Vatican with a bloody bag and shows Sara the contents, and before she knows it, she becomes linked to a series of murders. Two detectives, Nic Costa and Luca Rossi, are charged with tracking down the killer before he can make Sara his next victim.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Nic Costa Books

Leave a Reply