Richard Hannay is the protagonist in five adventure novels by Scottish author John Buchan. The character is a fictional secret agent who was based in part on Edmund Ironside, an Edinburgh spy during the Second Boer War. Hannay was born in Scotland around 1877 and grew up around his father’s German business partners and thus learned how to speak German. He fought in World War I and reached the rank of major, serving in the New Army and also spying on enemies. The Richard Hannay novel The Thirty-Nine Steps was adapted into the film The 39 Steps by perhaps the greatest director of all-time, Alfred Hitchcock.

Richard Hannay made his debut in the 1915 novel The Thirty-Nine Steps. His final appearance as a major character is in the 1936 novel The Island of Sheep. Below is a list of John Buchan’s Richard Hannay books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Richard Hannay Books

(By: John Buchan, Ford Madox Ford)

The Thirty-Nine Steps(1915)Description / Buy at
Greenmantle(1916)Description / Buy at
Mr. Standfast(1919)Description / Buy at
The Three Hostages(1924)Description / Buy at
The Courts Of The Morning(1929)Description / Buy at
The Island of Sheep(1936)Description / Buy at

If You Like Richard Hannay Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Richard Hannay Books

Leave a Reply