John Buchan, 1st Baron Tweedsmuir (1875-1940) was a Scottish novelist of adventure novels and an author of many non-fiction books. Buchan served as the 15th Governor General of Canada. His most famous novel was The Thirty-Nine Steps, which was adapted into the Alfred Hitchcock film The 39 Steps. Buchan would feature that novel’s protagonist, Richard Hannay, in four other novels as a major character and two others as a minor character. Following his death in 1940, Buchan received a state funeral in Canada before his ashes were sent to the United Kingdom.

John Buchan became a published author with Sir Quixote of the Moors, published in 1895. His final original work was the non-fiction book The History of the First World War, not published until 1991. His final novel was The Long Traverse, published in 1941. Below is a list of John Buchan’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Richard Hannay Books

(with Ford Madox Ford)

The Thirty-Nine Steps (1915)Description / Buy at
Greenmantle (1916)Description / Buy at
Mr. Standfast (1919)Description / Buy at
The Three Hostages (1924)Description / Buy at
The Courts Of The Morning (1929)Description / Buy at
The Island of Sheep (1936)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Leithen Stories Books

(with Robin Hardy)

The Power-House (1916)Description / Buy at
John MacNab (1924)Description / Buy at
The Dancing Floor (1926)Description / Buy at
The Gap in the Curtain (1932)Description / Buy at
Sick Heart River (1941)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dickson McCunn Books

Huntingtower (1922)Description / Buy at
Castle Gay (1930)Description / Buy at
The House of the Four Winds (1935)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

John Burnet of Barns (1898)Description / Buy at
A Lost Lady of Old Years (1899)Description / Buy at
The Half-Hearted (1900)Description / Buy at
A Lodge in the Wilderness (1906)Description / Buy at
Prester John (1910)Description / Buy at
Salute to Adventurers (1915)Description / Buy at
Midwinter (1923)Description / Buy at
Witch Wood (1927)Description / Buy at
The Magic Walking Stick (1927)Description / Buy at
The Blanket Of The Dark (1931)Description / Buy at
A Prince of the Captivity (1933)Description / Buy at
The Free Fishers (1934)Description / Buy at
The Long Traverse (1941)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Novel and the Fairy Tale (1977)Description / Buy at
The Kirk in Scotland (1985)Description / Buy at
These for Remembrance (1987)Description / Buy at
Gordon At Khartoum (2006)Description / Buy at
Sir Quixote of the Moors (2008)Description / Buy at
Musa Piscatrix (2013)Description / Buy at
No-Man's-Land (2014)Description / Buy at
What I Saw In California (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Grey Weather: Moorland Tales of My Own People (1899)Description / Buy at
The Watcher By the Threshold and Other Tales (1902)Description / Buy at
The Moon Endureth: Tales and Fancies (1912)Description / Buy at
The Runagates Club (1928)Description / Buy at
The Strange Adventures of Mr Andrew Hawthorn (1932)Description / Buy at
The Clearing House: A Survey of One's Mind (1946)Description / Buy at
Best Short Stories (1984)Description / Buy at
The Best Supernatural Stories of John Buchan (1991)Description / Buy at
Supernatural Buchan (1997)Description / Buy at
Collected Supernatural Stories (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Scholar Gipsies (1896)Description / Buy at
Sir Walter Raleigh (1897)Description / Buy at
Some Eighteenth Century Byways, And Other Essays (1908)Description / Buy at
Sir Walter Scott (1911)Description / Buy at
Andrew Jameson, Lord Ardwall (1913)Description / Buy at
History of the Battle of the Somme (1917)Description / Buy at
Francis and Riversdale Grenfell, a Memoir (1920)Description / Buy at
A History of the Great War (1922)Description / Buy at
The Last Secrets (1923)Description / Buy at
Days to Remember (1923)Description / Buy at
Lord Minto (1924)Description / Buy at
Montrose (1928)Description / Buy at
Julius Caesar (1932)Description / Buy at
The Massacre of Glencoe (1933)Description / Buy at
Oliver Cromwell (1934)Description / Buy at
The King's Grace: 1910-1935 (1935)Description / Buy at
Episodes of the Great War (1936)Description / Buy at
Augustus (1937)Description / Buy at
Naval Episodes of the Great War (1938)Description / Buy at
Memory Hold-the-Door (1940)Description / Buy at
Pilgrim's Way (1940)Description / Buy at
John Buchan By His Wife and Friends (1947)Description / Buy at
A History of the First World War (1991)Description / Buy at
The Marquis of Montrose (1996)Description / Buy at
History of the Royal Scots Fusiliers (2005)Description / Buy at
The Battle of the Somme, First Phase (2012)Description / Buy at
The Last Secrets - The Final Mysteries of Exploration (2013)Description / Buy at
John Buchan's 1914 (2014)Description / Buy at
Buchan's War (2015)Description / Buy at
The Path of the King (2015)Description / Buy at
Britain's War by Land (2015)Description / Buy at
The Nations of To-Day (2015)Description / Buy at
The First World War in Africa 1914-1918 (2018)Description / Buy at
Italy: The Nations of To-day (2019)Description / Buy at
Nine Journeys of Wonder (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

John Buchan's Collected Poems (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Yellow Book(1897)Description / Buy at
Atlantic Harvest: Memoirs of the Atlantic(1947)Description / Buy at
Far Islands and Other Tales of Fantasy(1984)Description / Buy at
Adventure Stories for Boys and Girls(1985)Description / Buy at
Great Flying Stories(1991)Description / Buy at
Spies And Secret Agents(1993)Description / Buy at
From the Line: Scottish War Poetry 1914 - 1945(2014)Description / Buy at
Scottish Stories(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: Sick Heart River was also published as Mountain Meadow. The Long Traverse is also titled Lake of Gold. Memory Hold-the-Door was titled Pilgrim’s Way in the United States.

If You Like John Buchan Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Buchan Books

Leave a Reply