Detective Inspector Tom Thorne is a fictional character created by British author Mark Billingham. The character is middle-aged and lives in London. The character shares several personality traits with the author.

The Tom Thorne series began in 2001 with Mark Billingham’s debut novel, Sleepyhead. Below is a list of Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Mark Billingham releases a new book at

Publication Order of Tom Thorne Books

Sleepyhead(2001)Description / Buy at
Scaredy Cat(2001)Description / Buy at
Lazybones(2003)Description / Buy at
The Burning Girl(2004)Description / Buy at
Lifeless(2005)Description / Buy at
Buried(2006)Description / Buy at
Death Message(2007)Description / Buy at
Bloodline(2009)Description / Buy at
From The Dead(2010)Description / Buy at
Good as Dead / The Demands(2011)Description / Buy at
The Dying Hours(2013)Description / Buy at
Thorne at Christmas: A Short Story Collection(2013)Description / Buy at
The Bones Beneath(2014)Description / Buy at
Time of Death(2015)Description / Buy at
Love Like Blood(2017)Description / Buy at
The Killing Habit(2018)Description / Buy at
Their Little Secret(2019)Description / Buy at
Cry Baby(2020)Description / Buy at
The Murder Book(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Good as Dead is titled The Demands in the USA.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Tom Thorne Books

Leave a Reply