Val McDermid Gets Ink’d

Written by Brandon Williams on Saturday, December 15th, 2012

Following an appearance as a guest speaker Sunderland University lecture, a woman in a blonde wig and a trilby hat poured ink on Scottish novelist Val McDermid. “The last person in the queue had a very old copy of a non-fiction book I published back in the 1990s, then demanded I sign a Top Of […]


Val McDermid To Re-Write “Northanger Abbey”; Other Austen Re-Writes Planned

Written by Jenny Brady on Thursday, July 19th, 2012

Crime fiction novelist Val McDermid is looking to re-write the classic Jane Austen novel Northanger Abbey as part of a new series from HarperFiction. The updated edition of the novel is planned for Spring 2014. Other Jane Austen novels being re-written include Sense & Sensibility by Joanna Trollope and Pride & Prejudice by Curtis Sittenfeld.


Order of Tony Hill/Carol Jordan Books

The Tony Hill/Carol Jordan series is a series of mystery/suspense novels by Scottish novelist Val McDermid. Tony Hill is a psychologist who suffers from sexual dysfunction, while Carol Jordan is an officer who helps Tony put killers behind bars. The series was adapted into a UK television show called Wire in the Blood.


Order of Kate Brannigan Books

Kate Brannigan is a fictional character and a series of detective fiction novels by Scottish novelist Val McDermid. Kate works as a private investigator who works out of Manchester, England.


Order of Lindsay Gordon Books

Lindsay Gordon is a fictional character and a series of mystery novels by Scottish author Val McDermid. Lindsay Gordon is a freelance journalist who is a lesbian (as McDermid herself is). The series is set in Scotland.


Ringing in the New Year with New Books

Written by Jenny Brady on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2012

With the new year comes a lot of new books! For January 3rd, we have new books by Simon R. Green, Val McDermid, Andrew Clements and John T. Lescroart! To help you in your book shopping with that Christmas money you received from Great Aunt Gladys, we’ve got a link to the best price available […]