Lindsay Gordon is a fictional character and a series of mystery novels by Scottish author Val McDermid. Lindsay Gordon is a freelance journalist who is a lesbian (as McDermid herself is). The series is set in Scotland.

The Lindsay Gordon series began in 1987 with Report for Murder. The series consists of six books. Below is a list of Val McDermid’s Lindsay Gordon books in order of when they were originally published (aslo their chronological order):

Get notified when Val McDermid releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lindsay Gordon Books

Report For Murder(1987)Description / Buy at
Common Murder(1989)Description / Buy at
Final Edition / Open and Shut / Deadline for Murder(1991)Description / Buy at
Union Jack / Conferences Are Murder(1993)Description / Buy at
Booked For Murder(1996)Description / Buy at
Final Edition(1997)Description / Buy at
Hostage To Murder(2003)Description / Buy at

Notes: Final Edition is also known as either Open and Shut or Deadline for Murder in the United States. Union Jack‘s alternate US title is Conferences are Murder.

If You Like Lindsay Gordon Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lindsay Gordon Books

Leave a Reply