Order of Jenny Cain Books

Jenny Cain by Nancy Pickard
Jenny Cain is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American author Nancy Pickard. Described as rich and beautiful, Jennifer Cain works as a foundation director in the town of Port Frederick, Massachusetts. But then, when a generous donor is found dead, Jenny ends up becoming an amateur sleuth on the side. (more…)


Order of Nancy Pickard Books

Nancy Pickard
Nancy Pickard is an American author of crime fiction and mystery novels. She writes the Jenny Cain series. As of this writing, Nancy is the only author to win the Macavity Award (five times), Agatha Award (four times), Anthony Award and Shamus Award. Nancy earned her journalism degree from the University of Missouri. (more…)


Order of Donna Tartt Books

Donna Tartt
Donna Tartt is an American author of literary fiction. She has written the novels The Secret History, The Little Friend and The Goldfinch. Donna has been awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2014 and the WH Smith Literary Award in 2003. She was also named one of the Time’s 100 Most Influential People in 2014. (more…)


Order of Brennan & Esposito Books

Brennan and Esposito by Tania Carver
Brennan & Esposito is a series of crime thriller novels by Tania Carver (Martyn & Linda Waites). Philip Brennan is a detective inspector in Colchester, Essex, England, who ends up working alongside a psychologist named Marina Esposito. But the two have a past, which they have to get past in order to work effectively as a team. The series was conceived to be a “high concept thriller series,” in the vein of Karin Slaughter or Tess Gerritsen. Colchester was chosen as the setting for the series because of the great history of the town, having once been the capital of Britain, and the fact that there has never been a series set there. (more…)


Order of Tania Carver Books

Tania Carver
Tania Carver is the pen name of the husband-and-wife writing team of British authors Martyn and Linda Waites, who write crime thriller novels. They write the Brennan & Esposito series. Prior to forming the writing team with his wife, Martyn wrote several novels under his own name. An old editor of his was looking for a British version of Karin Slaughter or Tess Gerritsen; Martyn said he was the man (or woman?) for the job. Soon, he ran into difficulty, so he kept having to ask his wife Linda for help, before eventually taking her on as a co-author. (more…)


Order of Lei Crime Books

Lei Crime by Toby Neal
The Lei Crime series is a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Toby Neal. The series follows Lei Texeira, a Hawaiian detective who travels from island to island investigating crimes. (more…)


Order of Toby Neal Books

Toby Neal
Toby Neal is an American author of mystery, suspense and romance novels. She writes the Lei Crime series. Toby grew up in Kauai, Hawaii. She wrote and drew her first book when she was only five. She started out majoring in journalism, but ended up switching to mental health. Toby thinks of her background in counseling as vital to her writing characters. She lives in Hawaii with her family and dogs. (more…)


Order of Michael Marshall Smith Books

Michael Marshall Smith
Michael Marshall Smith is an English novelist of science fiction, horror and thriller novels (and screenplays). He writes as Michael Marshall, Michael Marshall Smith and M.M. Smith. Michael writes the Straw Men Trilogy. He was born in England, but has also lived in the U.S., South Africa and Australia, but eventually returned to England. Micharl studied Philosophy and Social and Political Science at Cambridge, although he admits that he spent most of his time performing for the Cambridge Footlights. He then moved onto BBC Radio before becoming a writer. Michael lives his wife in Santa Cruz, California. (more…)


Order of Deadwood Mysteries Books

Deadwood Mysteries by Ann Charles
The Deadwood Mysteries is a series of mystery novels by American author Ann Charles. The series follows Violet Parker, a single mother and real estate agent in Deadwood, South Dakota. (more…)


Order of James Herriot Books

James Herriot
James Herriot is the pen name of English author James Alfred Wight (1916-1995), who wrote about his experiences working as a vet. He had always wanted to write, but his time was consumed by his work. Eventually, his wife challenged him to do it. Because the veterinary community frowned upon professionals advertising their practices through writing, he decided to write under his pen name of James Herriot. He is best known for his book All Creatures Great and Small and its follow-ups. In addition to his animal stories, he also wrote extensively about Yorkshire in his stories, where his practice was based. (more…)