Adam Brookes (Photo Credit: Selena Malott)
Adam Brookes is a British author of spy thriller novels. He writes the Philip Mangan series. Adam was born in Canada, but grew up in Oxfordshire, England. After studying Chinese at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, he became a journalist, a now-extinct “copytaster” with the BBC, a BBC radio producer, and finally a foreign correspondent. He has been based in Indonesia, China and the U.S., and has reported from around 30 countries.

Adam Brookes made his debut as a novelist in 2014 with the novel Night Heron, beginning his Philip Mangan series. Below is a list of Adam Brookes’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Adam Brookes releases a new book at

Publication Order of Philip Mangan Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Fragile Cargo: The World War II Race to Save the Treasures of China's Forbidden City (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Adam Brookes Books, You’ll Love…

Adam Brookes Synopsis: Night Heron by Adam Brookes is the first book in the Philip Mangan series. A lone man, Peanut, escapes a labour camp in the middle of the night, fleeing across the winter desert of northwest China. Two decades earlier, he worked as a spy for the British; now Peanut must disappear on Beijing’s well-surveilled streets. Desperate and ruthless, he reaches out to his one-time MI6 paymasters via crusading journalist Philip Mangan, offering military secrets in return for extraction. But the secrets prove more valuable than Peanut or Mangan could ever have known… and not only to the British.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Adam Brookes Books

Leave a Reply