Alan Bradley is a Canadian author of mystery novels. During his high school years, rather than socializing, Alan would spend his spare time reading at the cemetery. He worked as Director of Television Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan for 25 years before deciding to switch careers in favour of becoming a full-time writer. He first tried writing screenplays, but after the 2003 Okanagan Mountain Park Fire destroyed neighbouring houses, he decided to try his hand at writing memoirs. In 2007, he wrote 15 pages about the character who would become Flavia de Luce for a contest, which he won.

Alan Bradley became a published author in 1980 with the non-fiction book Ms. Holmes of Baker Street. His first novel was not published for almost 30 years, which was The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. Below is a list of Alan Bradley’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alan Bradley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Flavia de Luce Books

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (2009)Description / Buy at
The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag (2010)Description / Buy at
A Red Herring Without Mustard (2011)Description / Buy at
I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (2011)Description / Buy at
Speaking from Among the Bones (2012)Description / Buy at
The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (2014)Description / Buy at
The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse (2014)Description / Buy at
As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust (2015)Description / Buy at
Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd (2016)Description / Buy at
The Grave's a Fine and Private Place (2017)Description / Buy at
The Golden Tresses of the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at
What Time the Sexton's Spade Doth Rust (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Ms Holmes of Baker Street: The Truth About Sherlock (1989)Description / Buy at
The Shoebox Bible (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Study in Sherlock(2011)Description / Buy at

Note: Ms. Holmes of Baker Street was co-authored by William A.S. Sarjeant.

If You Like Alan Bradley Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alan Bradley Books

2 Responses to “Order of Alan Bradley Books”

  1. Julie A.: 9 years ago

    Not for publication, but I occasionally notice little slips in Flavia’s catechism memory. “Some of us believe the Host is the Body of Christ”–no, no, no. This is a major belief of Roman Catholics, and is a required belief in order to be Catholic. Of course, an 11 year old who attends Anglican services rather than Catholic can be forgiven this mistake, I suppose, but I hope she receives some instruction soon.


  2. Julie A.: 9 years ago

    Found Flavia quite by accident, and she injected her chemistry right into my heart! Flavia has joined Inspector Gamache and all of Alexander McCall-Smith’s characters at the top of my “must get the newest novel ASAP” list.


Leave a Reply