Alan Gratz resides in the high country of Western North Carolina with his wife Wendi and his daughter Jo. Alan graduated with a College Scholars degree specializing in creative writing and later a Master’s degree in English education from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Alan is the author of eight young adult novels. He was the finalist in the 2002 Marguerite deAngeli Contest which is now known as Delacorte Dell Yearling Contest for a First Middle Grade Novel. Alan was also the co-winner in 2003 of the Kimberly Colen Memorial Grand from Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

Get notified when Alan Gratz releases a new book at

Publication Order of Horatio Wilkes Mystery Books

Something Rotten (2007)Description / Buy at
Something Wicked (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The League of Seven Books

The League of Seven (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dragon Lantern (2015)Description / Buy at
The Monster War (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Hero of the Five Points (2014)Description / Buy at
Resist (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Captain America: The Ghost Army (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Star Trek: Starfleet Academy (2010) Books

(with Rudy Josephs, Rick Barba)

The Delta Anomaly (By: Rick Barba) (2010)Description / Buy at
TheEdge (By: Rudy Josephs) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Gemini Agent (By: Rick Barba) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Assassination Game (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Naked Came the Leaf Peeper(2011)Description / Buy at
Tomo: Friendship Through Fiction: An Anthology of Japan Teen Stories(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alan Gratz, You’ll Love…

Alan Gratz Synopsis: In Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz, having it all, Kamran Smith star of the football teams, dates the most popular girl in school he can’t wait to enlist in the Army like his big brother Darius. His family is originally from Iran but Kamran has always felt he was a true American and accepted. Then his world explodes as his big brother Darius is accused of being a terrorist, the evidence is there but Kamran refuses to believe it. But Darius has been seen being filmed making threats against America about an upcoming deadly attack. All of Kamran’s friends turn their backs on him because they believe that he’s a terrorist too but he knows it’s up to him to clear his brothers name. It’s a race against time for Kamran to put together the clues and code that will take him to his brother Darius and the truth.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alan Gratz Books

Leave a Reply