Alison Goodman is an Australian fantasy writer best known as the author of the Lady Helen series and Eon/Eona series.

Goodman has also spread out and wrote a dark adult crime novel called A New Kind of Death. For that book, her husband painted the cover and her biased opinion is that it is brilliant. Alison takes joy in doing research and has learned to dance a quadrille and sword fight in order to learn what her characters do better.

Get notified when Alison Goodman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Eon Books

Eon / The Two Pearls of Wisdom / Eon: Dragoneye Reborn / Eon: Rise of the Dragoneye (2008)Description / Buy at
Eona / The Necklace of the Gods / Eona: Return of the Dragoneye / Eona: The Last Dragoneye (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Ill-Mannered Ladies Books

The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lady Helen Books

The Dark Days Club (2015)Description / Buy at
Lusus Naturae (2016)Description / Buy at
The Dark Days Pact (2017)Description / Buy at
The Dark Days Deceit (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Singing the Dogstar Blues (1998)Description / Buy at
Killing the Rabbit / A New Kind of Death (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Firebirds Rising: An Anthology of Original Science Fiction and Fantasy(2005)Description / Buy at
Relics, Wrecks and Ruins(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alison Goodman Books, You’ll Love…

Eon is an award winner novel from Goodman. The book follows a sixteen-year-old boy named Eon who has been studying sword-work and magic his whole life with the goal of becoming a Dragoneye, an apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune. Based on skill, Eon has a good chance but there is a secret that threatens to unravel the whole thing. Eon is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl, and girls are forbidden to use Dragon Magic. If anyone finds out, she will be killed. Eon and her allies are threatened and her secret is nearing exposure, and she will have to fight those who want to take her magic and her life.

The Lady Helen series starts off with The Dark Days Club. Lady Helen Wrexhall is on the verge of being presented to the queen in 1812 London when one of her family’s housemaids disappears. That draws her into the underworld of Regency London. Helen finds Lord Carlston who may be the only one can help stop the perpetrators who turn out to be a cabal of demons making inroads in London. He has a dark reputation and she’s not sure about asking for his help, but she’ll need someone in order to stay out of the demons reach.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alison Goodman Books

Leave a Reply