Alistair MacLean (1922-1987) was a Scottish novelist of thrillers and adventures. His novels The Guns of Navarone, Ice Station Zebra and Where Eagles Dare were all adapted into successful films. His novels do not include much sex or romance because he believed it would slow down the action.

His first four novels (H.M.S. Ulysses up to The Last Frontier) were third-persona narratives, mostly set during WWII and were somewhat epic in tone. His next four (or six if you include his Ian Stuart novels; starting with Night Without End up to Ice Station Zebra) were first person narratives set in contemporary times. The next six (When Eight Bells Toll to Bear Island) were not consistent in theme but were considered to be high quality work. His last twelve (starting with The Way to Dusty Death) were weak, considered to be lazy and too reliant on dialogue. Below is a list of Alistair MacLean’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Guns of Navarone Books

The Guns of Navarone (1957)Description / Buy at
Force 10 from Navarone (1968)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Alistair MacLean's UNACO Books

Hostage Tower (With: John Denis) (1980)Description / Buy at
Air Force One Is Down (With: John Denis) (1981)Description / Buy at
Death Train (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1988)Description / Buy at
Alistair MacLean's Death Train (By: Alastair MacNeill) (1988)Description / Buy at
Night Watch (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1989)Description / Buy at
Red Alert (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1990)Description / Buy at
Time of the Assassins (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1991)Description / Buy at
Dead Halt (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1992)Description / Buy at
Code Breaker (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1993)Description / Buy at
Rendezvous (With: Alastair MacNeill) (1995)Description / Buy at
Prime Target (With: Hugh Miller) (1997)Description / Buy at
Borrowed Time (With: Hugh Miller) (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

H.M.S. Ulysses (1955)Description / Buy at
South by Java Head (1958)Description / Buy at
The Last Frontier / The Secret Ways (1959)Description / Buy at
Night Without End (1960)Description / Buy at
Ice Station Zebra (1960)Description / Buy at
Fear is the Key (1961)Description / Buy at
The Black Shrike / The Dark Crusader (1961)Description / Buy at
The Golden Rendezvous (1962)Description / Buy at
The Satan Bug (1962)Description / Buy at
When Eight Bells Toll (1966)Description / Buy at
Where Eagles Dare (1967)Description / Buy at
Puppet on a Chain (1969)Description / Buy at
Caravan to Vaccares (1970)Description / Buy at
Bear Island (1971)Description / Buy at
The Way to Dusty Death (1973)Description / Buy at
Breakheart Pass (1974)Description / Buy at
Circus (1975)Description / Buy at
The Golden Gate (1975)Description / Buy at
Goodbye, California (1977)Description / Buy at
Seawitch (1977)Description / Buy at
Athabasca (1980)Description / Buy at
River of Death (1981)Description / Buy at
Partisans (1982)Description / Buy at
Floodgate (1983)Description / Buy at
San Andreas (1984)Description / Buy at
Santorini (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Alastair MacLean Short Story Collections

The Lonely Sea (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Alastair MacLean Non-Fiction Books

Lawrence of Arabia (1962)Description / Buy at
Captain Cook (1972)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Notes: The Last Frontier is also titled The Secret Ways. The Dark Crusaders was also published under the title The Black Shrike. The novels Death Train, Night Watch, Red Alert, Time of the Assassins, Dead Halt, Code Breaker and Rendezvous were co-authored by Alastair MacNeill. Hostage Train and Air Force One is Down were co-authored by John Denis. Prime Target and Borrowed Time was co-authored by Hugh Miller.

If You Like Alistair MacLean Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alistair MacLean Books

3 Responses to “Order of Alistair MacLean Books”

  1. Thomas Ray Worley: 7 years ago

    Yes, we can disambiguate our Alistair MacLean a bit by calling him by his full name, Alistair Stuart MacLean, 1922-1987.


  2. Fred: 9 years ago

    Fire of Humiliation is nót written by Alistair MacLean. Yes, it is written by An Alistair Maclean, but not THE Alistair Maclean we love to read.


    • Sue T: 7 years ago

      Was wondering how he had written a book after he had passed.


Leave a Reply