Allan Massie is a Scottish author of historical fiction, political thrillers, contemporary fiction novels, and non-fiction books. Allan was educated at Glenalmond and Trinity College, Cambridge. Working as a journalist, he has worked as The Scotsman‘s chief fiction reviewer and a political columnist for the aforementioned paper, The Sunday Times, The Daily Telegraph and the Scottish Daily Mail.

Allan Massie made his debut as a published author in 1978 with the novel Change and Decay in All Around I See. Below is a list of Allan Massie’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Allan Massie releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bordeaux Books

Death in Bordeaux (2010)Description / Buy at
Dark Summer in Bordeaux (2012)Description / Buy at
Cold Winter in Bordeaux (2014)Description / Buy at
End Games in Bordeaux (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dark Ages Books

The Evening of the World (1999)Description / Buy at
Arthur the King (2003)Description / Buy at
Charlemagne and Roland (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Imperial Books

Augustus / Let the Emperor Speak (1986)Description / Buy at
Tiberius (1991)Description / Buy at
Caesar (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Question Of Loyalties Books

A Question Of Loyalties (1989)Description / Buy at
The Sins of the Father (1991)Description / Buy at
Shadows of Empire (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Change And Decay In All Around I See (1978)Description / Buy at
The Last Peacock (1980)Description / Buy at
Ill Met By Gaslight (1981)Description / Buy at
The Death of Men (1981)Description / Buy at
One Night in Winter (1984)Description / Buy at
The Hanging Tree (1990)Description / Buy at
These Enchanted Woods (1993)Description / Buy at
The Ragged Lion (1994)Description / Buy at
King David (1995)Description / Buy at
Antony (1997)Description / Buy at
Nero's Heirs (1999)Description / Buy at
Caligula (2003)Description / Buy at
The Thistle and the Rose (2005)Description / Buy at
Surviving (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Edinburgh and The Borders, In Verse (1983)Description / Buy at
Klaus and Other Stories (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Muriel Spark (1979)Description / Buy at
The Caesars (1983)Description / Buy at
A Portrait of Scottish Rugby (1984)Description / Buy at
Colette (1986)Description / Buy at
101 Great Scots (1987)Description / Buy at
Eisenstaedt's Aberdeen (1987)Description / Buy at
The Novelist's View of the Market Economy (1988)Description / Buy at
Byron's Travels (1988)Description / Buy at
Glasgow (1989)Description / Buy at
The Novel Today (1990)Description / Buy at
Edinburgh (1994)Description / Buy at
The History of Selkirk Merchant Company, 1694-1994 (1994)Description / Buy at
Eric Linklater (1999)Description / Buy at
Scottish Cultural Identity (2006)Description / Buy at
The Royal Stuarts (2010)Description / Buy at
Life & Letters (2013)Description / Buy at
Nevertheless (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

New Edinburgh Review Anthology(1982)Description / Buy at
P.E.N. New Fiction II(1987)Description / Buy at
ImagiNation: Stories of Scotland's Future(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Allan Massie Books, You’ll Love…

Allan Massie Synopsis: The Death of Men is a standalone title by Allan Massie. The year is is 1978. Corrado Dusa is head of Italy’s Christian Democrat Party and the country’s Senior Minister. He is also considered to be the key figure in resolving the crisis of dissent and violence that permeates political life. But Dusa has been kidnapped and now his son, Bernardo, a member of a militant extremist group, has disappeared. The press is aghast while the family sense disaster. Can Dusa’s release be negotiated? Under what conditions? And – most importantly – with what results?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Allan Massie Books

Leave a Reply