Alan Furst is an American author of historical spy fiction. His novels are usually set in Eastern Europe before and during World War II. He is best known for his Night Soldiers series. He considers his influences to be Eric Ambler, Graham Greene, Joseph Roth and Arthur Koestler.

Alan Furst became a published novelist in 1976 with the novel Your Day in the Barrel. Below is a list of Alan Furst’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alan Furst releases a new book at

Publication Order of Night Soldiers Books

Night Soldiers (1988)Description / Buy at
Dark Star (1991)Description / Buy at
The Polish Officer (1995)Description / Buy at
The World at Night (1996)Description / Buy at
Red Gold (1999)Description / Buy at
Kingdom of Shadows (2000)Description / Buy at
Blood of Victory (2002)Description / Buy at
Dark Voyage (2004)Description / Buy at
The Foreign Correspondent (2006)Description / Buy at
The Spies of Warsaw (2008)Description / Buy at
Spies of the Balkans (2010)Description / Buy at
Mission to Paris (2012)Description / Buy at
Midnight in Europe (2014)Description / Buy at
A Hero of France (2016)Description / Buy at
Under Occupation (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Roger Levin Books

Your Day in the Barrel (1976)Description / Buy at
The Paris Drop (1980)Description / Buy at
The Caribbean Account (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of T.J & Blake Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Childrens Books

Give Peas a Chance (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Book of Spies: An Anthology of Literary Espionage(2003)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alan Furst Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alan Furst Books

4 Responses to “Order of Alan Furst Books”

  1. Michael Kennedy: 1 year ago

    Great books I enjoyed every one.


  2. Timothy Smith: 7 years ago

    Does anyone know and can share their chronological order? I don’t care when Furst wrote them, I want to know the historical dates their events recount. I want to read them in historical order. Some cover many years (‘Night Soldiers’ runs from 1934 well into WWII — I have yet to finish it so am not sure when it ends). Nor am I sure which one to read next.


    • Marc: 3 months ago

      I realize that this question is (as I write this) six years old, but (for the benefit of anyone else who might be wondering):
      The books in the “Night Soldiers” series are all set during World War II, and – except for the two Jean Casson novels “The World at Night” and “Red Gold” – there’s no particular chronological sequence. “Night Soldiers” begins in 1934 and runs through 1945 or so; the others pick up anywhere from 1939 through 1942 and end… when they end.
      They’re all set in the same, historical universe – i.e. major world events happen as they actually did, and characters from some books make cameo appearances in others – but they can be enjoyably read in any order you choose (although I do recommend starting with “Night Soldiers”, and reading “The World at Night” just before “Red Gold”.)

      In my opinion, “A Hero of France” and “Under Occupation” are the weakest of the series – but they’re still really good, and the series as a whole is spectacular.


  3. ViveVoce: 8 years ago

    Just discovered these books – fascinating – will read every one.


Leave a Reply