Amber Smith is an author of YA and middle-grade novels. She is a mental health, gendered violence and LGBTQIA+ equality advocate, and looks to write books that will help initalize dialogue and foster change. Originally from Buffalo, New York, Amber now resides in Charlotte, North Carolina with her wife and rescue pets.

Amber Smith made her debut as a novelist in 2016 with The Way I Used to Be. Below is a list of Amber Smith’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Amber Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Way I Used To Be Books

The Way I Used to Be (2016)Description / Buy at
The Way I Am Now (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last to Let Go (2018)Description / Buy at
Something Like Gravity (2019)Description / Buy at
Code Name: Serendipity (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Our Stories, Our Voices(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Amber Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Amber Smith Synopses: The Last to Let Go is a standalone novel by Amber Smith. Brooke Winters anticipates junior year to be a period of transformation—switching schools, embarking on a fresh start, and outlining plans for college to break free from her hometown, family, and tumultuous past.

However, her aspirations crumble on a scorching summer afternoon when her mother is arrested for the alleged murder of Brooke’s abusive father. The circumstances surrounding that day remain unclear—whether it was premeditated or an act of self-defense, right or wrong. Now, Brooke and her siblings must navigate life on their own.

Amid a year of significant firsts—dealing with the absence of parents, experiencing first love, enduring the pain of first heartbreak, and tasting the first hints of freedom—Brooke grapples with the lingering shadow of her family’s violence and dysfunction. As she strives to embrace her identity, discover her true place in the world, and learn the art of letting go, she confronts the challenges that come with newfound independence.

Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith is a standalone title. Chris and Maia’s aren’t off to the greatest of starts.

Their first connection occurs after a near-fatal car accident, and subsequent encounters continue to be less than smooth. Chris’s well-intentioned efforts often misfire, while Maia struggles to control her temper. However, fate has them as neighbors for the summer, and despite their attempts to avoid each other, they find themselves drawn together.

Navigating their budding connection proves challenging. Chris has come out as transgender, but is still grappling with the aftermath of a traumatic assault he experienced the previous year. Maia, on the other hand, is mourning the loss of her older sister and seeking her place in a world without her. Falling in love was not on their agenda, but what if it happened anyway?

In Code Name: Serendipity by Amber Smith, Sadie, an eleven-year-old girl, is having a tough start to the school year. Her best friend has moved away, her older brother is behaving poorly as usual, and her cherished Gramps is struggling with his fading memories. However, a magical discovery turns things around when Sadie finds a stray dog named Dewey with whom she can communicate telepathically. Convinced that Dewey is meant to be her friend, Sadie faces challenges when Dewey is captured and sent to a shelter, labeled as a potential danger. To prove she is responsible enough for a pet, Sadie embarks on a mission to break Dewey out of the shelter, blending themes of friendship, family, and self-belief in this heartwarming tale.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Amber Smith Books

Leave a Reply