Andrew Martin is an English author, journalist, and documentary filmmaker. He is the author of the Jim Stringer, Steam Detective book series about a railwayman reassigned to the North Eastern Railway police in Edwardian England.

Martin attended Merton College, Oxford and went to work as a freelance journalist after university. He wrote for numerous publications while also writing novels at the time. He was named the Spectator Young Writer of the Year for his comic novel, The Bobby Dazzlers. In addition to his work with these, he also has written non-fiction books and has worked extensively in the world of television and radio. He also is a musician under the name of Brunswick Green.

Get notified when Andrew Martin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jim Stringer Books

The Necropolis Railway (2002)Description / Buy at
The Blackpool Highflyer (2004)Description / Buy at
The Lost Luggage Porter (2006)Description / Buy at
Murder at Deviation Junction (2007)Description / Buy at
Death on a Branch Line (2008)Description / Buy at
The Last Train to Scarborough (2009)Description / Buy at
The Somme Stations (2011)Description / Buy at
The Baghdad Railway Club (2012)Description / Buy at
Night Train to Jamalpur (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

UndergroundOverground (2012)Description / Buy at
Flight By Elephant (2013)Description / Buy at
Belles and Whistles (2014)Description / Buy at
Night Trains (2018)Description / Buy at
Seats of London (2019)Description / Buy at
Steam Trains Today (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 89: The Factory(2005)Description / Buy at

If You Like Andrew Martin Books, You’ll Love…

The Necropolis Railway sees railwayman Jim Stringer moving to 1903 London where he is assigned to a mysterious graveyard line. His new co-workers can’t stand him and he soon finds out that his predecessor disappeared under mysterious circumstances. Stringer must work quick to figure out what is going on here between the line and his co-workers before he finds himself on a one-way coffin ticket aboard the Necropolis Railway.

Martin is also the author of The Lost Luggage Porter, the third book in the series. This book sees Martin working as railway detective for York station. His first day on the job is an eventful one as he is tipped off to a group of railway thieves by the Lost Luggage Porter, a mysterious figure who is known to be a human directory to everything in York. Jim’s job is to infiltrate their gang and finds himself drawn into a plot to carry out a robbery. The mission will find him off to Paris with the thieves, but trouble strikes when his wife is threatened and he’ll need to get to her before the villains do.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Andrew Martin Books

Leave a Reply