Andrzej Sapkowski is a Polish author of fantasy novels. He writes The Witcher series. Prior to becoming a writer, Andrzej studied economics and worked in sales for a foreign trade company. In 1986, his first short story (Wiedzmin) was published in Fantastyka (the number one fantasy magazine in Poland) to tremendously positive reviews. This is what became The Witcher. Due to the success of the story, he turned the story into larger saga. This helped make Andrzej one of the top Polish fantasy novelists of the 1990s.

Andrzej Sapkowski debuted in English with the 2007 short story collection The Last Wish. The first novel in the series was Blood of Elves, published in 2008. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Andrzej Sapkowski’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Andrzej Sapkowski releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Witcher Books

Blood of Elves (2008)Description / Buy at
The Time of Contempt (2013)Description / Buy at
Baptism of Fire (2014)Description / Buy at
The Tower of Swallows (2016)Description / Buy at
Lady of the Lake (2016)Description / Buy at
Season of Storms (2018)Description / Buy at
The Lady of the Lake (2022)Description / Buy at
Chronologically, it is advised to read The Last Wish then Sword of Destiny and finally Season of Storms prior to Blood of Elves then read in publication order.

Publication Order of Witcher Collections Books

Sword of Destiny (1992)Description / Buy at
The Last Wish (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hussite Trilogy Books

The Tower of Fools (2002)Description / Buy at
Warriors of God (2004)Description / Buy at
Light Perpetual (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Malady and Other Stories (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Andrzej Sapkowski Books, You’ll Love…

Andrzej Sapkowski Synopses: The Last Wish is a short story collection that opens The Witcher series. Geralt of Rivia is a witcher – a cunning sorcerer, a merciless assassin, and a cold-blooded killer. His lone purpose is to destroy the monsters that plague the world. But not everything monstrous-looking is evil and not everything fair is good… and in every fairy tale there is a grain of truth.

The Malady and Other Stories contains two short stories from The Witcher series (from The Last Wish), plus first chapters from two Witcher novels as well as the title story (The Malady).

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Andrzej Sapkowski Books

Leave a Reply