Mark Lawrence
Mark Lawrence is an American-British author of fantasy novels. He writes the Broken Empire Trilogy and the Red Queen’s War series. As well as being a novelist, Lawrence is a research scientist in the field of artificial intelligence. Besides writing, he enjoys playing computer games and brewing beer. Mark is married with four children.

Mark Lawrence made his debut as a published author with his novel Prince of Thorns in 2011. Below is a list of Mark Lawrence’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Mark Lawrence releases a new book at

Publication Order of Broken Empire Books

Prince of Thorns (2011)Description / Buy at
King of Thorns (2012)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Beauty (2013)Description / Buy at
Emperor of Thorns (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Red Queen's War Books

Prince of Fools (2014)Description / Buy at
The Liar’s Key (2015)Description / Buy at
The Wheel of Osheim (2016)Description / Buy at
The New World (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Book Of The Ancestor Books

Publication Order of Impossible Times Books

Publication Order of Book Of The Ice Books

The Girl and the Stars (2020)Description / Buy at
The Girl and the Mountain (2021)Description / Buy at
The Girl and the Moon (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Library Trilogy Books

The Book That Wouldn't Burn (2023)Description / Buy at
The Book That Broke the World (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

During the Dance (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Road Brothers, Tales from the Broken Empire (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Visitor Books

The Visitor: Kill or Cure (2020)Description / Buy at
The Visitor (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fading Light(2012)Description / Buy at
Unfettered(2013)Description / Buy at
Unfettered II: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2016)Description / Buy at
Art of War(2018)Description / Buy at
Knee-Deep in Grit: Two Bloody Years of Grimdark Fiction(2018)Description / Buy at
Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mark Lawrence Books, You’ll Love…

Mark Lawrence Synopsis: Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence is the first novel in the Broken Empire Trilogy. At age 9, he witnessed his mother and brother’s brutal deaths. At 13, he was leading a band of thugs. By age 15, he plans to be king. The time has come for Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath to return to the castle he turned his back on, to take what’s rightfully his. Since the day he hung pinned on the thorns of a briar patch and watched Count Renar’s men slaughter his mother and young brother, Jorg has been driven to vent his rage. Life and death are no more than a game to him — and he has nothing left to lose. But treachery awaits him in his father’s castle. Treachery and dark magic. No matter how fierce his will, can one young man conquer enemies with power beyond his imagining?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mark Lawrence Books

Leave a Reply