Ann H. Gabhart is an American author of historical fiction, young adult, children’s, romance, mystery and Christian fiction novels. She writes the Shaker series. Growing up on a farm in Kentucky, Ann knew she wanted to be a writer by the time her age hit double digits. Ann sets her novels in such eras as the 1800’s, the Depression, 1960’s and contemporary times, usually in small towns. She has three children and nine grandchildren, and still lives on a farm near where she grew up. She enjoys playing with her grandchildren, going on walks with her dog, reading and writing.

Ann H. Gabhart made her debut as a novelist in 1978 with the standalone novel A Forbidden Yearning. Below is a list of Ann H. Gabhart’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Ann H. Gabhart releases a new book at

Publication Order of First Love Books

(with Maud Johnson)

A Rainbow for Alison (By: Maud Johnson) (1982)Description / Buy at
A Chance Hero (1985)Description / Buy at
The Look of Eagles (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crosswinds Books

Publication Order of The Heart of Hollyhill Books

The Scent of Lilacs (2005)Description / Buy at
Orchard of Hope (2007)Description / Buy at
Summer of Joy (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shaker Books

Publication Order of Rosey Corner Books

Angel Sister (2010)Description / Buy at
Small Town Girl (2013)Description / Buy at
Love Comes Home (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hidden Springs Mysteries Books

Murder at the Courthouse (2015)Description / Buy at
Murder Comes by Mail (2016)Description / Buy at
Murder is No Accident (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Forbidden Yearning (1978)Description / Buy at
A Heart Divided (1980)Description / Buy at
Wish Come True (1988)Description / Buy at
Only in Sunshine (1989)Description / Buy at
For Shelia (1991)Description / Buy at
Discovery At Coyote Point (1991)Description / Buy at
Two of a Kind (1992)Description / Buy at
Bridge to Courage (1993)Description / Buy at
Secrets to Tell (1994)Description / Buy at
Words Spoken True (2012)Description / Buy at
Freak of the Week (2016)Description / Buy at
These Healing Hills (2017)Description / Buy at
River to Redemption (2018)Description / Buy at
Refuge (2019)Description / Buy at
An Appalachian Summer (2020)Description / Buy at
Along a Storied Trail (2021)Description / Buy at
When the Meadow Blooms (2022)Description / Buy at
In the Shadow of the River (2023)Description / Buy at
The Song of Sourwood Mountain (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Angels at the Crossroads (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crosswinds Books

Sylvia Smith-Smith (By: Pete Nelson) (1987)Description / Buy at
Shock Effect (By: Glen Ebisch) (1987)Description / Buy at
Lou Dunlop: Private Eye (By: Glen Ebisch) (1987)Description / Buy at
Lou Dunlop: Cliffhanger (By: Glen Ebisch) (1987)Description / Buy at
Kaleidoscope (By: Candice Ransom) (1987)Description / Buy at
Angel In The Snow (By: Glen Ebisch) (1988)Description / Buy at

Note: The Hidden Springs Mysteries series is written as A.H. Gabhart.

If You Like Ann H. Gabhart Books, You’ll Love…

Ann H. Gabhart Synopses: Murder Comes by Mail by A.H. Gabhart. is the first Hidden Springs Mystery novel. In front of a busload of camera-wielding senior citizens, Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane saves a stranger’s life. Unfortunately, he soon suspects it may have been a murderer that he saved.

Murder is No Accident is the second Hidden Springs Mysteries book by A.H. Gabhart. When murder comes to call at a stately Victorian house, the town of Hidden Springs looks to Deputy Sheriff Michael Keene to solve the crime before anyone else dies.

For Sheila is a standalone title by Ann Gabhart. Shortly after Sydney’s sister passes away, a mysterious little white dog appears only to Sydney and helping her out of her time of grief.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ann H. Gabhart Books

Leave a Reply