Annalena McAfee is an English author of fiction novels and children’s books. Annalena McAfee was born in London and was attended Essex University. She worked in newspapers for over three decades. She was arts and literary editor of the Financial Times and founded the Guardian Review, which she edited for six years. She has been a judge of the Orange Prize for Fiction, the South Bank Show Awards, and the Ben Pimlott Prize for political writing. She lives with her husband, author Ian McEwan.

Annalena McAfee made her debut as a published author in 1984 with the picture book The Visitors Who Came to Stay. Below is a list of Annalena McAfee’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Annalena McAfee releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Chapter Books

Patrick's Perfect Pet (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Visitors Who Came To Stay (1985)Description / Buy at
Kirsty Knows Best (1987)Description / Buy at
All the Way to the Stars (1995)Description / Buy at
Why Do Stars Come Out At Night? (1997)Description / Buy at
Busy Baby (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sprinters Books

The Snow Maze (By: Jan Mark) (1992)Description / Buy at
Impossible Parents Go Green (By: Brian Patten) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Finger Eater (By: Arthur Robins,Dick King-Smith) (1992)Description / Buy at
New Big House (By: Debi Gliori) (1992)Description / Buy at
My Little Brother (By: Debi Gliori) (1992)Description / Buy at
The Haunting of Pip Parker (By: Anne Fine) (1992)Description / Buy at
Holly and the Skyboard (By: Ian Whybrow) (1993)Description / Buy at
The Baked Bean Kids (By: Ann Pilling) (1993)Description / Buy at
The Magic Boathouse (By: Sam Llewellyn) (1994)Description / Buy at
Impossible Parents (By: Brian Patten) (1994)Description / Buy at
Beware the Killer Coat (By: Susan Gates) (1994)Description / Buy at
Art, You're Magic! (By: Sam McBratney) (1994)Description / Buy at
Hector the Rat (By: Tony Wilkinson) (1994)Description / Buy at
Fighting Dragons (By: Colin West) (1995)Description / Buy at
Little Stupendo (By: Jon Blake) (1995)Description / Buy at
Ronnie and the Giant Millipede (By: Jenny Nimmo) (1995)Description / Buy at
Easy Peasy (By: Sarah Hayes) (1995)Description / Buy at
Cup Final Kid (By: Martin Waddell) (1996)Description / Buy at
Care of Henry (By: Anne Fine) (1996)Description / Buy at
Emmelina and the Monster (By: June Crebbin) (1998)Description / Buy at
Flora's Fantastic Revenge (By: Nick Warburton) (2000)Description / Buy at
Patrick's Perfect Pet (2002)Description / Buy at
Tricky Nelly Nickleby (By: Berlie Doherty) (2003)Description / Buy at
Cool as a Cucumber (By: Michael Morpurgo) (2003)Description / Buy at
No Tights for George (By: June Crebbin) (2004)Description / Buy at
Fearless Fitzroy (By: Alex Merry Kathy Henderson) (2005)Description / Buy at
Molly and the Beanstalk (By: Pippa Goodhart) (2006)Description / Buy at
Lady-long-legs (By: Jan Mark) (2006)Description / Buy at
Tarquin the Wonder Horse (By: June Crebbin) (2006)Description / Buy at
The Most Impossible Parents (By: Brian Patten) (2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like Annalena McAfee Books, You’ll Love…

Annalena McAfee Synopsis: The Girl Who Got to Number One is a standalone title by Annalena McAfee. Abigail is an ordinary schoolgirl with schoolgirl problems – until she’s “discovered” as a pop singer. Her life changes overnight. Her manager really does manage her whole existence – records, clothes, social engagements, even romances. But as her career rockets, her personal life plummets.

The Visitors Who Came to Stay is a picture book by Annalena McAfee. A story of the difficulty of adjusting to a parent’s new partner, telling how a little girl’s tranquil life with her father is turned upside-down after his new friend and her little boy come to stay.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Annalena McAfee Books

Leave a Reply