Anne Emery is a Canadian author of mystery novels. She has written many books and even won the silver medal in the 2011 Independent Publisher Book Awards as well as the 2011 Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction, for her novel Children in the Morning. She was also recipient of the 2007 Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel for her debut, Sign of the Cross.

Emery was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia and grew up in Mocton, New Brunswick. She would then attend St. F.X University and Dalhouise Law School where she earned her law degree. She would then work numerous careers including as a lawyer, a legal affairs reporter and a researcher before coming to writing later in her life.

Get notified when Anne Emery releases a new book at

Publication Order of Collins-Burke Mystery Books

Sign of the Cross (2006)Description / Buy at
Obit (2007)Description / Buy at
Barrington Street Blues (2008)Description / Buy at
Cecilian Vespers (2009)Description / Buy at
Children in the Morning (2010)Description / Buy at
Death at Christy Burke's (2010)Description / Buy at
Blood on a Saint (2013)Description / Buy at
Ruined Abbey (2015)Description / Buy at
Lament for Bonnie (2018)Description / Buy at
Though the Heavens Fall (2018)Description / Buy at
Postmark Berlin (2020)Description / Buy at
Fenian Street (2022)Description / Buy at
Counted Among the Dead (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If You Like Anne Emery Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Collins-Burke Mystery is Sign of the Cross. This one introduces us to lawyer Monty Collins who has some rough clients and all he really wants is someone articulate, intelligent and tattoo-free. His mother always told him to be careful what you wish for and he is heeding those words when he is investigating Father Burke who is the prime suspect in a killing of a young girl with a religious sign drawn on her body.

Children in the Morning is one of Emery’s most popular books and it is the fifth book in the Collins-Burke Mystery series. The book sees Beau Delaney, a hotshot in Halifax whose exploits are getting a Hollywood movie made about him, charged with the murder of his wife Peggy. The lawyer is Monty Collins who gets help from everyone from his estranged wife Maura to his friend Brennan to try and figure out who did it. Monty and Maura’s daughter Normie plays a big role with her second sight ability that leads them to something Beau has done – or will do.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anne Emery Books

Leave a Reply