Joy Ellis is an English author of crime thriller novels. She writes the DI Nikki Galena and DS Joe Easter series, as well as the DI Rowan Jackman and DS Maria Evens series. Joy was born in Kent, but spent the majority of her adult life in London and Surrey. She worked as an apprentice florist at Constance Spry, Ltd. in Mayfair. She would later go on to work a variety of different jobs, including being a bookshop manager. Joy has been writing mysteries for years, but didn’t focus on it until later. She sets her novels in the Lincolnshire Fens, which she loves due to its remote location and the beauty of the marshlands. It is also where she makes her home, with her partner, Jacqueline (a retired police officer).

Joy Ellis made her debut as a published novelist in 2010 with the novel Mask Wars (aka Crime on the Fens). Below is a list of Joy Ellis’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Joy Ellis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Matt Ballard Books

Beware the Past (2017)Description / Buy at
Five Bloody Hearts (2019)Description / Buy at
The Dying Light (2020)Description / Buy at
Marshlight (2021)Description / Buy at
Trick of the Night (2022)Description / Buy at
The Bag of Secrets (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DI Nikki Galena & DS Joe Easter Books

Mask Wars / Crime on the Fens (2010)Description / Buy at
Shadowbreaker / Shadow Over the Fens (2011)Description / Buy at
Hunted on the Fens (2014)Description / Buy at
Killer on the Fens (2016)Description / Buy at
Stalker on the Fens (2016)Description / Buy at
Captive on the Fens (2017)Description / Buy at
Buried on the Fens (2017)Description / Buy at
Thieves On The Fens (2017)Description / Buy at
Fire on the Fens (2018)Description / Buy at
Darkness on the Fens (2019)Description / Buy at
Hidden on the Fens (2020)Description / Buy at
Secrets on the Fens (2021)Description / Buy at
Fear on the Fens (2021)Description / Buy at
Graves on the Fens (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DI Rowan Jackman & DS Maria Evans Books

The Murderer's Son (2014)Description / Buy at
Their Lost Daughters (2017)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Friend (2017)Description / Buy at
The Guilty Ones (2018)Description / Buy at
The Stolen Boys (2018)Description / Buy at
The Patient Man (2019)Description / Buy at
They Disappeared (2020)Description / Buy at
The Night Thief (2021)Description / Buy at
Solace House (2022)Description / Buy at
The River's Edge (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ellie McEwan Books

An Aura of Mystery (2024)Description / Buy at
The Colour of Mystery (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Guard Her With Your Life (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Joffe Books Murder Mystery & Suspense Short Story Collection(2021)Description / Buy at
Written in the Stars(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Mask Wars was later re-published as Crime on the Fens. Shadowbreaker was re-titled Shadow Over the Fens.

If You Like Joy Ellis Books, You’ll Love…

Joy Ellis Synopsis: The Murderer’s Son is the first book in the DI Rowan Jackman and DS Maria Evens series by Joy Ellis. Twenty years ago, a farmer and his wife are cut to pieces by a ruthless serial killer. Fast forward to today, and a woman is viciously stabbed to death in the upmarket kitchen of her beautiful house on the edge of the marshes. Then a man called Daniel Kinder walks into Saltern police station and confesses to the murder. But DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans of the Fenland Constabulary soon discover that there is a lot more to Daniel than meets the eye. He has no memory of the first five years of his life and is obsessed with who his real mother is. With no evidence to hold him, Jackman and Evans are forced to let him go, and in a matter of days the lonely Lincolnshire Fens become the stage for more killings and Daniel has disappeared. In a breathtaking finale, the truth about Daniel’s mother comes to light and DI Jackman and DS Evans race against time to stop more lives being destroyed.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Joy Ellis Books

3 Responses to “Order of Joy Ellis Books”

  1. Barb Comstock: 2 years ago

    Have just started your series. I am enjoying your books very much. Eagerly starting the next one


  2. Candida: 2 years ago

    Great books thank you


  3. Mary Eaves: 3 years ago

    Just writing to say how much I have enjoyed the Audio books written by you, I am just about to start the finial book of the Series DI Rowan Jackson and DS Marie Evans, they really are thrilling. These I have through BorrowBox via the Library and download. Mostly listen whilst doing jobs or travelling, thank you you bring it to life. X


Leave a Reply