Anne Cleeland
Anne Cleeland is an American author of crime fiction and historical fiction novels. She writes the New Scotland Yard mystery series and the Regency historical series. Cleeland earned her English degree from UCLA and her law degree from Pepperdine University, and has passed the Bar in California. She is a member of the Historical Novel Society and the Mystery Writers of America. Anne lives in California and has four children.

Anne Cleeland became a published novelist in 2013 with the novel Tainted Angel, quickly followed by Murder in Thrall and then Daughter of the God-King. Below is a list of Anne Cleeland’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Anne Cleeland releases a new book at

Publication Order of Regency Books

Tainted Angel (2013)Description / Buy at
Daughter of the God-King (2013)Description / Buy at
The Bengal Bridegift (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of New Scotland Yard/Doyle and Acton Books

Murder in Thrall (2013)Description / Buy at
Murder in Retribution (2014)Description / Buy at
Murder in Hindsight (2015)Description / Buy at
Murder in Containment (2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in All Honour (2017)Description / Buy at
Murder in Shadow (2017)Description / Buy at
Murder in Misdirection (2018)Description / Buy at
Murder in Spite (2018)Description / Buy at
Murder in Just Cause (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Blood (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder in Deep Regret (2020)Description / Buy at
Murder in Revelation (2020)Description / Buy at
Murder in Unsound Mind (2021)Description / Buy at
Murder in Material Gain (2021)Description / Buy at
Murder in Immunity (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder in All Fury (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder in Admonishment (2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Protocol (2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Reproach (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Barbary Mark (2017)Description / Buy at
The True Pretender (2018)Description / Buy at
A Death in Sheffield (2019)Description / Buy at
The Spanish Mask (2020)Description / Buy at
The Gypsy Queen (2021)Description / Buy at
The Blighted Bride (2022)Description / Buy at
The Stray Relation (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Hats and Windows (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Anne Cleeland Books, You’ll Love…

Anne Cleeland Synopsis: In Murder in Thrall by Anne Cleeland (book 1 of the New Scotland Yard Mysteries), Irish redhead Kathleen Doyle is a rookie detective. Michael Acton is a former British lord who is now Chief Inspector. Acton is tall, handsome and is a bit of an enigma. He chooses Doyle to be his partner due to her intuition picking up on lies. Together, they go investigate the murder of a trainer at a race track, and soon afterward, more bodies are found. The two of them are quickly put into dangerous situations – perhaps most of dangerous of all is the attraction that develops between them.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anne Cleeland Books

Leave a Reply