Archer Mayor is an American author of detective fiction and mystery novels. His series features his Joe Gunther character. Before he starting writing fiction, Archer worked as an editor, researcher, photographer and journalist. Mayor spends much of his time researching his novels, meanwhile working as a death investigator for the Vermont State Medical Examiner, Windham County Sheriff’s Department deputy and volunteering for the fire department and as an EMT.

Archer Mayor became a published fiction author in 1988 with Open Season. Below is a list of Archer Mayor’s books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronology):

Get notified when Archer Mayor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joe Gunther Books

Open Season (1988)Description / Buy at
Borderlines (1990)Description / Buy at
Scent of Evil (1991)Description / Buy at
The Skeleton's Knee (1992)Description / Buy at
Fruits of the Poisonous Tree (1993)Description / Buy at
The Dark Root (1994)Description / Buy at
The Ragman's Memory (1995)Description / Buy at
Bellows Falls (1996)Description / Buy at
The Disposable Man (1997)Description / Buy at
Occam's Razor (1999)Description / Buy at
The Marble Mask (2000)Description / Buy at
Tucker Peak (2001)Description / Buy at
The Sniper's Wife (2002)Description / Buy at
Gatekeeper (2003)Description / Buy at
The Surrogate Thief (2004)Description / Buy at
St. Albans Fire (2005)Description / Buy at
The Second Mouse (2006)Description / Buy at
Chat (2007)Description / Buy at
The Catch (2008)Description / Buy at
The Price of Malice (2009)Description / Buy at
Red Herring (2010)Description / Buy at
Tag Man (2011)Description / Buy at
Paradise City (2012)Description / Buy at
Three Can Keep a Secret (2013)Description / Buy at
Proof Positive (2014)Description / Buy at
The Company She Kept (2015)Description / Buy at
Presumption of Guilt (2017)Description / Buy at
Trace (2017)Description / Buy at
Bury the Lead (2018)Description / Buy at
Bomber's Moon (2019)Description / Buy at
The Orphan's Guilt (2020)Description / Buy at
Marked Man (2021)Description / Buy at
Fall Guy (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Joe Gunther Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Southern Timberman (1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mysterious Press Anniversary Anthology: Celebrating 25 Years(2001)Description / Buy at

If You Like Archer Mayor Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Archer Mayor Books

3 Responses to “Order of Archer Mayor Books”

  1. Bette Jones: 3 years ago

    Yes, I truly appreciate this site also. I like the bio of each author….helps me make a connection with her/him. I also like being able to click on the amazon site and get a synopsis of the book I’m interested in. And, I love Graeme’s newsletters.


  2. Morgans on the trail: 10 years ago

    I really appreciate this site. It can be so confusing trying to read a favorite authors books in order. It is wonderful to be able to go to a site and have the answers and so much more available

    I particularly like the search by character. One can often remember the character but not the author. Or remember the author but not sure what series includes the character you are looking for.

    All in all a great site


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      Thanks! Due to the sheer number of characters or series, we unfortunately can’t add all of them without being lackadaisical about it, but we do our best!


Leave a Reply