Joe Gunther is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Archer Mayor. Gunther is a police detective based in Vermont. He is a Korean War vet. He would grow to be an old-fashioned observant and persistent cop who is willing to admit to his own faults.

The Joe Gunther series began with 1988’s Open Season. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Archer’s Mayor’s Joe Gunther books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Archer Mayor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joe Gunther Books

Open Season(1988)Description / Buy at
Borderlines(1990)Description / Buy at
Scent of Evil(1991)Description / Buy at
The Skeleton's Knee(1992)Description / Buy at
Fruits of the Poisonous Tree(1993)Description / Buy at
The Dark Root(1994)Description / Buy at
The Ragman's Memory(1995)Description / Buy at
Bellows Falls(1996)Description / Buy at
The Disposable Man(1997)Description / Buy at
Occam's Razor(1999)Description / Buy at
The Marble Mask(2000)Description / Buy at
Tucker Peak(2001)Description / Buy at
The Sniper's Wife(2002)Description / Buy at
Gatekeeper(2003)Description / Buy at
The Surrogate Thief(2004)Description / Buy at
St. Albans Fire(2005)Description / Buy at
The Second Mouse(2006)Description / Buy at
Chat(2007)Description / Buy at
The Catch(2008)Description / Buy at
The Price of Malice(2009)Description / Buy at
Red Herring(2010)Description / Buy at
Tag Man(2011)Description / Buy at
Paradise City(2012)Description / Buy at
Three Can Keep a Secret(2013)Description / Buy at
Proof Positive(2014)Description / Buy at
The Company She Kept(2015)Description / Buy at
Presumption of Guilt(2017)Description / Buy at
Trace(2017)Description / Buy at
Bury the Lead(2018)Description / Buy at
Bomber's Moon(2019)Description / Buy at
The Orphan's Guilt(2020)Description / Buy at
Marked Man(2021)Description / Buy at
Fall Guy(2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Joe Gunther Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Joe Gunther Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Joe Gunther Books

2 Responses to “Order of Joe Gunther Books”

  1. Loretta: 3 years ago

    I love your web site. I am addicted to criminal law books and having suggestions so easily available is AWESOME! Right now, I’m stuck on Thaddeus Murphy/John Ellsworth. I just completed the Sisters in Law, such a short list. Every time I finish one, I feel like I just lost a good friend until I find another one to hook me. I will be placing orders through this web site! Thank you for all the work in development and keeping the lists current.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      You’re welcome Loretta and thank YOU for taking the time to write this. It is much appreciated 🙂 Cheers!


Leave a Reply