Armistead Maupin (Photo Credit: Christopher Turner)
Armistead Maupin is an American author, best known for his Tales of the City series. He says he first developed his instincts for storytelling when he was 8 years old. Maupin went to school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he wrote for The Daily Tar Heel. Early in his career, Maupin worked for a TV station managed by future U.S. Senator Jesse Helms, who he considered to be a hero of his. His opinions have shifted since then. Maupin came out as a homosexual when he was 30, and soon after began his Tales of the City series.

Armistead Maupin became a published author with Tales of the City, which originally started out as a serial in the Pacific Sun newspaper and then the San Francisco Chronicle. It was published as a novel in 1978. Below is a list of Armistead Maupin’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Armistead Maupin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Tales of the City Books

Tales of the City (1978)Description / Buy at
More Tales of the City (1978)Description / Buy at
Further Tales of the City (1982)Description / Buy at
Babycakes (1984)Description / Buy at
Significant Others (1987)Description / Buy at
Sure of You (1989)Description / Buy at
Michael Tolliver Lives (2007)Description / Buy at
Mary Ann in Autumn (2010)Description / Buy at
The Days of Anna Madrigal (2014)Description / Buy at
Mona of the Manor (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tales of the City Graphic Novels

(with Isabelle Bauthian)

Tales of the City (Graphic Novel) (With: Isabelle Bauthian) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Maybe the Moon (1992)Description / Buy at
The Night Listener (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Little Big Book of California(2005)Description / Buy at
The Letter Q(2012)Description / Buy at
Letters to Change the World: From Pankhurst to Orwell(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Armistead Maupin Books, You’ll Love…

Armistead Maupin Synopsis: Jackie Old by Armistead Maupin is a “what if” story about what would it be like had Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis lived to become a recluse like her cousin “Little Edie” Beale. What would Jackie O have been like in 1999? 42 pages.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Armistead Maupin Books

Leave a Reply