Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin
Tales of the City is a series of novels by American novelist Armistead Maupin. The setting of the series is at 28 Barbary Lane in San Francisco, California. Here you will find such characters as a pot-growing landlady, a hippie bisexual, a lothario, a cagey roof tenant and a sweet gay man nicknamed “Mouse.” The first few novels of the series have been made into a TV mini-series. There have also been musical adaptations. Publishers Weekly describes the series as “Maupin’s alternately playful and sentimental tales depict an all-too-easily satirized population of transients and toffs living in and around San Francisco.”

Armistead Maupin began his Tales of the City series as a newspaper serial and published the novel Tales of the City in 1978. In 1989, the series took an 18 year hiatus after Sure of You. In 2007, Maupin resurrected the series with Michael Tolliver Lives. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Armistead Maupin releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Tales of the City Books

Tales of the City(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
More Tales of the City(1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Further Tales of the City(1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Babycakes(1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Significant Others(1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sure of You(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Michael Tolliver Lives(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mary Ann in Autumn(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Days of Anna Madrigal(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mona of the Manor(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Tales Of The City Books, You’ll Love…

Tales of the City Synopsis: In More Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin, the people of 28 Barbary Lane have left their homes for some adventure. Mary Ann Singleton finds a stranger to love at sea, Mona Ramsey finds none other than her own doppleganger in a whorehouse, and Michael Tolliver happens upon a certain gynecologist in a seedy Mexican bar. Meanwhile, their venerable landlady takes the biggest journey of all – without ever leaving home.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Tales Of The City Books

Leave a Reply