Arthur Hailey (1920-2004) was a British-Canadian novelist of thriller, suspense and police procedural novels. His novels are set in a single industry, including hotels, banks or airlines. He would research the subject for about a year, study his notes for another six months and then spend a year a half actually writing the novel. During his lifetime, he was born in England, emigrated to Canada (and became a Canadian citizen) in 1947, moved to California in 1965 and moved to the Bahamas in 1969 where he would live out the remainder of his life.

Arthur Hailey began his writing career in 1956 and became a published author in 1958 with the novel Runway Zero-Eight (aka Flight into Danger; co-written by John Castle). His first solo novel was the 1959 novel The Final Diagnosis. His final work was the 1997 novel Detective. Below is a list of Arthur Hailey’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Flight into Danger / Runway Zero-Eight (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Final Diagnosis (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In High Places (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hotel (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Airport (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wheels (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Moneychangers (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Overload (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Strong Medicine (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Evening News (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Detective (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Flight into Danger was written with John Castle.

If You Like Arthur Hailey Books, You’ll Love…

Arthur Hailey Synopsis: In Hotel by Arthur Hailey, strangers have met in a luxurious hotel for five days and it will change their lives forever. Their secrets and their desires will drive them towards strange intimacies and build towards conflicts.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Arthur Hailey Books

Leave a Reply