Arthur William Upfield (1890-1964) was an English-Australian author of detective fiction and thriller novels. He wrote the Inspector Bonaparte series. Upfield moved to Australia when he was a young man and fought with the Australian military during World War I. He spent the next few years travelling around his adopted home country, learning about the Aboriginal culture. Upfield was also a member of the Australian Geological Society and was involved in numerous scientific expeditions. Upfield’s works remained popular after his death, and in the 1970s were adapted into the Australian television series entitled “Boney.”

Arthur Upfield made his debut as a novelist in 1928 with the novel The House of Cain. Below is a list of Arthur Upfield’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Inspector Bonaparte Books

The Barrakee Mystery / The Lure of the Bush (1929)Description / Buy at
The Sands of Windee (1931)Description / Buy at
Wings Above the Diamantina / Wings Above the Claypan (1936)Description / Buy at
Mr. Jelly's Business/Murder Down Under (1937)Description / Buy at
Winds of Evil (1937)Description / Buy at
The Bone is Pointed (1938)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of Swordfish Reef (1939)Description / Buy at
Bushranger of the Skies / No Footprints in the Bush (1940)Description / Buy at
Death of a Swagman (1945)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Steps (1946)Description / Buy at
An Author Bites the Dust (1948)Description / Buy at
The Mountains Have a Secret (1948)Description / Buy at
The Bachelors of Broken Hill (1950)Description / Buy at
The Widows of Broome (1951)Description / Buy at
The New Shoe/The Clue of the New Shoe (1951)Description / Buy at
Venom House (1952)Description / Buy at
Murder Must Wait (1953)Description / Buy at
Death of a Lake (1954)Description / Buy at
Sinister Stones/Cake in the Hat Box (1954)Description / Buy at
The Battling Prophet (1956)Description / Buy at
Man of Two Tribes (1956)Description / Buy at
Bony Buys a Woman / The Bushman Who Came Back (1957)Description / Buy at
Bony and the Mouse / Journey to the Hangman (1959)Description / Buy at
Bony and the Black Virgin / The Torn Branch (1959)Description / Buy at
Bony and the Kelly Gang / Valley of Smugglers (1960)Description / Buy at
Bony and the White Savage (1961)Description / Buy at
The Will of the Tribe (1962)Description / Buy at
Madman's Bend / The Body at Madman's Bend (1963)Description / Buy at
The Lake Frome Monster (1966)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House of Cain (1928)Description / Buy at
The Beach of Atonement (1930)Description / Buy at
The Great Melbourne Cup Mystery (1932)Description / Buy at
Gripped by Drought (1932)Description / Buy at
A Royal Abduction (1932)Description / Buy at
Breakaway House (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Up and Down Australia (2008)Description / Buy at
Up and Down the Real Australia (2009)Description / Buy at
Up and Down Australia Again (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Murchison Murders (1934)Description / Buy at
The Gifts of Frank Cobbold (2008)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Mirage (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bodies from the Library(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Barrakee Mystery was also published as The Lure of the Bush. Mr. Jelly’s Business is also known as Murder Down Under. Bushranger of the Skies is also titled No Footprints in the Bush. The New Shoe is also known as The Clue of the New Shoe. Cake in the Hatbox is also known as Sinister Stones. Bony Buys a Woman was also published as The Bushman Who Came Back. Bony and the Black Virgin is also known as The Torn Branch. Bony and the Mouse is also known as Journey to the Hangman. Bony and the Kelly Gang was also titled Valley of Smugglers. Madman’s Bend is also known as The Body at Madman’s Bend. The Lake Frome Monster was co-authored by J.L. Price and Dorothy Strange.

If You Like Arthur Upfield Books, You’ll Love…

Arthur Upfield Synopsis: In The House of Cain by Arthur Upfield, Austilene Thorpe is accused of murder but then disappears from gaol. Her fiance, Martin Sherwood, goes blind from the shock. His famous adventurous brother, Monty, finds out that Austilene is in a refuge for murderers in the north-east corner of South Australia, and together they set out to find and bring her home to Melbourne.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Arthur Upfield Books

Leave a Reply