Garry Disher
Garry Disher is an Australian author of crime fiction and children’s novels. He writes the Wyatt series and the Inspector Challis series. Disher obtained postgraduate degrees from Adelaide University and Melbourne University. He was awarded a writing fellowship from Stanford University and wrote his first collection of short stories. He then travelled the world, ending up back in Australia, teaching creative writing. In 1988, Garry became a full-time writer, which he has been ever since.

Garry Disher became a published author in 1981 with Approaches – the collection he wrote at Stanford. His first novel the standalone novel Steal Away. Below is a list of Garry Disher’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Garry Disher releases a new book at

Publication Order of Wyatt Books

Publication Order of Inspector Challis Books

Publication Order of Paul Hirschhausen Books

Hell to Pay / Bitter Wash Road (2013)Description / Buy at
Peace (2019)Description / Buy at
Consolation (2020)Description / Buy at
Day's End (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Steal Away (1987)Description / Buy at
The Stencil Man (1988)Description / Buy at
The Bamboo Flute (1992)Description / Buy at
Ratface (1993)Description / Buy at
Switch Cat (1995)Description / Buy at
Blame The Wind (1995)Description / Buy at
The Sunken Road (1996)Description / Buy at
Walk Twenty, Run Twenty (1996)Description / Buy at
Ermyntrude Takes Charge (1996)Description / Buy at
The Apostle Bird (1997)Description / Buy at
The Divine Wind (1998)Description / Buy at
From Your Friend, Louis Deane. (2000)Description / Buy at
Past The Headlands (2001)Description / Buy at
Moondyne Kate (2001)Description / Buy at
Maddie Finn (2002)Description / Buy at
Two-way Cut (2004)Description / Buy at
Eva's Angel (2004)Description / Buy at
Play Abandoned (2011)Description / Buy at
Good One, Erm (2013)Description / Buy at
Her (2017)Description / Buy at
Under the Cold Bright Lights (2017)Description / Buy at
Sanctuary (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Approaches (1981)Description / Buy at
The Difference To Me (1988)Description / Buy at
The Flamingo Gate (1991)Description / Buy at
Restless: Stories of Flight and Fear (1995)Description / Buy at
Straight, Bent And Barbara Vine (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Personal Best (1990)Description / Buy at
Personal Best 2 (1991)Description / Buy at
Below the Waterline (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing Fiction: An Introduction to the Craft (1984)Description / Buy at
Australia Then & Now (1987)Description / Buy at
Writing Professionally: The Freelancer's Guide to Marketing Prose and Scripts (1989)Description / Buy at
Bushrangers (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of After Dark Books

The Bent-Back Bridge (By: Gary Crew,Gregory Rogers) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Crow (By: Tom Jellett,Peter Lawrance) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Giant Spiders (By: Stephen Measday,Mark L. Wilson) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Carriers (By: Tom Jellet,Jonathan Harlen) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Twist in the Tale (By: Laine Hall) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Barn (By: Gary Crew,Tom Jellet) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Tunnel (By: Matthew Condon,Malcolm Liddell) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Vampires (By: Cameron Rogers) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Silver Eyes (By: Jackie French) (1997)Description / Buy at
Misteri Sumur Tua (By: Gary Crew) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Bats (By: David Miller,Gavin Warner) (1997)Description / Buy at
The Goddess (By: Robin Klein,Anne Spudvilas) (1998)Description / Buy at
The Mouth (By: Carmel Bird,Anita Mertzlin) (1999)Description / Buy at
The Stray Cat (By: Shaun Tan) (1999)Description / Buy at
The Snake Man (By: Peter Gouldthorpe,James Moloney) (1999)Description / Buy at
The Pipe (By: James Moloney) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Wombat King (By: Mark L. Wilson,Philip Neilsen) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Peppercorn Tree (By: Sheryl Gardner) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Lie (By: Philip Neilsen) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Cannibal Virus (By: Peter Gouldthorpe,Sue Robinson) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Fort (By: Gary Crew,Gregory Rogers) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Grandstand (By: Gary Crew) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Ghost of Love Street (By: Venero Armanno) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Darkroom (By: Steven Woolman,Gerard Ross) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Rings (By: Jenny Pausacker,Gregory Rogers) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Old Cattery (By: Shaun Tan,Nette Hilton) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Doll (By: Shaun Tan,Janine Burke) (2007)Description / Buy at
The Half Dead (With: Shaun Tan) (2020)Description / Buy at
The Ghost of Deadman's Beach (By: Venero Armanno,Dominique Falla) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Crosstown Traffic(1993)Description / Buy at
More Crimes for a Summer Christmas(1993)Description / Buy at
Strange Fruit(1995)Description / Buy at
Out West: Australian Dirt(1996)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of Detective Stories(2000)Description / Buy at
Hard Labour(2012)Description / Buy at
Dark Deeds Down Under(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Garry Disher Books, You’ll Love…

Garry Disher Synopses: In The Stencil Man by Garry Disher, even though he had emigrated from Germany nearly two decades ago, Martin Linke is classified as “suspicious” and interned with every other foreign-sounding named citizen. He argues that he is not at war and should not have to leave his family, but is instead put into an internment camp and isolated.

In The Bamboo Flute by Garry Disher, during the Great Depression in Australia, a child meets a swagman named Eric the Red. Eric teaches Paul how to play the bamboo flute, bringing music back into his life.

Switch Cat by Garry Disher is about two neighbour girls who aren’t happy with their own cats, but think that they match up much better with eachother’s cat. However, their parents don’t approve of the trade.

In Blame the Wind by Garry Disher, Robert must spend time with his cousin Carl. While camping at a farm, they meet a strange girl and together, they all tell ghost stories.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Garry Disher Books

Leave a Reply