Inspector Challis by Garry Disher
Inspector Challis is the protagonist in a series of hardboiled mystery/crime thriller novels by Australian novelist Garry Disher. Hal Challis is a detective inspector who works in a small town called Mornington in Southeast Australia, near Melbourne. The series also features Sergeant Ellen Destry.

Garry Disher began his Inspector Challis series in 1999 with the novel The Dragon Man. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Gary Disher’s Inspector Challis books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Garry Disher releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Challis Books

If You Like Inspector Challis Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector Challis Synopsis: The Dragon Man by Garry Disher is the first novel to feature Detective Inspector Hal Challis. A serial killer is preying on the citizens of Mornington, Australia. Inspector Challis and his team must stop this murderer before another body turns up. But before that, Challis must stop a newspaper editor from meddling with his investigation. He must also deal with his estranged wife, who is trying to repair their marriage. She has been in an asylum for the last eight years for attempted murder – his attempted murder.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Challis Books

Leave a Reply